betting rules

E

ElAngel

Guest
I believe that there may be a rule about whether you can or cannot raise after a player has gone 'all-in' by an amount below the minimum raise. Please could you clarify this for me and I have included below the example that I experienced.************************************************************************************************I'm not sure if you've ever had any complaints like this one, but it had a great deal of effect on the outcome of the game. Since I can't predict how other players would have played the hand if things had gone .OK, here goes: I was dealt pocket aces in 2nd position. Blinds were 50/100. I raised $300. Player "A" is on the short stack and raises all-in with $313, as I had hoped. Player "B" calls the $313 from the big blind. At this point, I should have been given the option to re-raise, as I had been raised. This point is obviously important because A's are far less likely to hold up against 2 hands as 1, and I wanted to try to push "B" out and isolate against "A". As I stated earlier, I'm not sure how "B" would have reacted had I been able to move all-in, but there is a real possibility I could have pushed him off his hand, which happened to be 8s9s. When 2 spades flopped it made it much easier for him to call my post-flop all-in bet with the pot odds he was getting and the size of his stack. In any case, the turn brought the Ace of spades out, giving me a set, but giving him a flush. No help on the river, and out the door I went. I hope this all makes sense.. I'd just like to know why I wasn't given the option to re-raise and, if it's a problem, maybe help get it fixed. Thanks!Tony
 
C

CoachMKV

Guest
Hey Tony, since there was a raise to you, you had the option to reraise. You should get some rules clarified before your next tournament. Maybe have a rule book ready.
 
E

ElAngel

Guest
Perhaps you did not understand?????

The software on which I was playing DID NOT allow me to re-raise, and someone mentioned that because the raise ( all-in ) was under the minimum raise allowed for that round ie: the big blind $100, this is what has caused the problem.

I joined this forum expecting to receive answers from pro's and poker players in the know, not to be spoken down to ( go buy a book ) by a person who obviously does not know the answers if his only comment is ..GO BUY A BOOK.

Thanks a great help NOT.
 
C

CoachMKV

Guest
ElAngel, I apologize if you took my response in a condescending way. My intentions were not that. Also, I thought you were playing live. Again, I am sorry, I did not mean it in a negative way.
 
Four Dogs

Four Dogs

Legend
Don't apologize! Your reply was not condescending and obviously well intended. You didn't understand because he never stated that he was playing on-line. That being said your advice to "have a rule book" not "BUY A RULE BOOK", was dead on, and if I didn't think ElAngel would bite my head off, I'd answer his question. But considering his attitude the best I'll do is say "BUY A RULE BOOK".
 
Last edited:
Four Dogs

Four Dogs

Legend
If you've already placed your bet you can only call another less than full bet. Its not a software glitch. Its the rules.
 
Related Betting Guides: CA Betting - AU Betting - UK Betting - SportsBetting Poker - BetStars Poker Rules - Poker Games
Top