Calculating Pot Odds and Odds of Hitting your Outs.

M

Mikan

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
JP
Chips
Hi!
Total beginner here but I just want someone to check my understanding of these two important areas of poker. So say there is 8 dollars in the pot and my opponent calls 2 dollars that comes to 10 dollars in the pot. I have to call 2 dollars. So 10/2 is 5. So Pot odds are 5 to 1. A call of 2 dollars to win 10 dollars are at pot odds of 5 to 1. Now to calculating the odds of hitting my outs. Say I have a 5 of diamonds and 6 of spades. Say the dealer has dealt 3 cards on the table, 8 of clubs, 9 of hearts, and 2 of spades. To get a straight I need a 7 on the turn to make the straight.
So there are 52 cards. Minus 2 cards in your hand that is 50. Minus 3 cards dealt. So there 47 unseen cards. 43 of the the unseen cards will give you a loss. 4 outs that will give you a win. So the odds of winning a straight on the turn is 10 to 1 roughly? Is my calculations correct? Thanks, Chris

christovam

christovam

Visionary
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
BR
Chips
Hello poker partner.
I found your question very interesting, as mathematical probabilities are difficult for me. I won't give you a definitive answer though, but from what I have heard from poker players, in your calculation you would also need to give the odds on both the turn and also the river. But I'll wait for some more professional player to leave the answer here and learn as well.

frnandoh

frnandoh

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
BR
Chips
Its more simple write and read like this:
You have 5d6s
The table has 8c9h2s

Pot odds: your $contribution to the pot.
Odds: your chance to hit a winner hand.

There are a little diference in notation, you have 2$/$12 = 1/6 <=> 1:5 <=> 16,666% is good to know this but that is justa little detail.