New Game for Me: 7-Stud

Coryan

Coryan

Total posts
Chips
I needed a little variety in my poker life. I started playing Limit Holdem last summer and moved over to NL Holdem this year. But I needed a change.

So I tried some 7-card stud. Well, so far it's been the boost I needed to get out of my 3 straight weeks of breakeven poker. I have played three cash sessions and four SnGs, and only one was a losing session. I doubled my money (well, just short on one) on all three cash sessions and had a first place and two thirds in my four SnGs.

I know...part of this is probably explained by running good...but I also enjoy the game. It is the perfect game for finding chasers who are willing to call anything with a gutshot draw...made some nice change off a few of them. I also enjoy the importance of tracking the up cards and what's been folded. However, I don't even try to play more than one stud table at a time. I did play a NL SnG and a stud game at the same time, but not sure this was any good for my SnG (placed sixth).

NOW A COUPLE QUESTIONS:

Can anyone recommend a good book on 7-card stud? Also, is stud always played as limit poker?

t1riel

t1riel

Legend
Total posts
Awards
Chips
As far as I know, 7 card stud is limit and never no limit. The best I've read on 7 card stud is actually a section in Super System 1 written by Chip Reese who was the best stud player at the time it was written. I recently have been indulging in 7 card stud myself and I love the game overall. It's agreat change of pace. Stud Hi/Lo is more challenging.

Osmann

Osmann

Total posts
Chips
When I first started playing poker online I was playing pot-limit 7-card stud and 5-card stud, so it does exist. But I don't think stud is very often played pot-limit or no-limit and none of the major sites offer it.

Coryan

Coryan

Total posts
Chips
Thanks for the info...

Osmann said: