Is it too late to start playing? Is age relevant?

D

Danu88

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello everyone. I started playing last year and since i believe i have grown much. I am no longer a fish , I've become a smaller fish :D.
Honestly a like playing so much that i would put in the hours to make an additional income from poker. The problem is that all the information is scattered and it's difficult to put everything into a proper order. The problems is: is it too late to try to become a serious player? How long does it usually take to become a profitable player?
Thanks in advance for your replies and advises.

K

krezip

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I don't think there's an age where you can no longer learn the game. I have the same discussion about languages all the time with people - I believe you can become fluent (maybe with an accent) even at a high age and I've kept on learning languages just to prove a point.

And same with piano playing and other things - where there's a will there's a way.

One thing that I do find hard (compared to when I was young) is multi-tabling. I think that may become harder at a more advanced ago.

I started poker around 10 years ago close to becoming 40 and took about a year or two to become a winning player. Now I've stopped for about 5 years and recently started again - only to discover that I'm a losing player again and that multi-tabling is not advisable for me right now. So I would need to practice again hard to get back to where I was.

I also notice that there's a distinct increase in the level that the game is played out now as compared to 10 years ago....

Good luck at the tables!

Ropa

Ropa

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips