Tournaments for under a dollar

Julthefreak

Julthefreak

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey guys! I wanted to ask you about your experience of poker tournaments (on the PC) for under a dollar. As I'm currently a student, I can't afford buy-in tournaments that are more expensive than a few dollars (haven't played one yet) but I would like to try winning real money. Is it a waste of money to play such tournaments because there are often a lot of participants in such tournaments and the chance of winning is lower as a result?

ChickenArise

ChickenArise

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Its not a waste of money, but if your goal is money it may be a waste of time as you will spend a lot of hours to likely min cash, if youre lucky.

If your goal is to get familiar with poker then its a decent cheap way to do it.

It is impossible to learn bluffing strategies at any level below the $5 buy in and its questionable if the majority of the pool will respect your bluffs at even the $5 level.

S

suitedsadness

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I would argue that larger field events these are not the most efficient way to develop as a poker player, as smaller sit and go's will introduce less variance, so you will be able to extrapolate results from smaller sample size, and learn to adjust your play.
Also, you wont end up spending 4 hours in a tournament just to burst on the bubble, which is always quite depressing when it happens.

M

Mariadelaluz

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
You´re young. Therefore, you can save money to challenge to take part in bigger tourneries.

S

samsonand

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I can already imagine hahahaha pure sharks in a small fishbowl for newbies hahaha for a dollar

kley126

kley126

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
VE
Chips