Pocket Pairs

CDNMAN 42

CDNMAN 42

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I know there is no perfect, guaranteed, positive, all encompassing answer on how to play small to medium pocket pairs, and I have tried various strategies from Jamming pre to limping and other tries...Is there an answer from the analysts or pros about the recommended tactics???:):):):)

Luvepoker

Luvepoker

Lost in the twilight zone
Community Guide
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
I know there is no perfect, guaranteed, positive, all encompassing answer on how to play small to medium pocket pairs, and I have tried various strategies from Jamming pre to limping and other tries...Is there an answer from the analysts or pros about the recommended tactics???:):):):)

I am far from a pro or an analysis and your correct there is no all encompassing way to play these hands. Just make sure preflop if you call the raise your giving yourself the correct odds.

I thing the thing you need to think about and look at is more about post flop play. Lets take pocket 8's. You raise and get called and the flop is something low like 7, 5,4. This is where many players can over play there hand. Yes your ahead of someone with a 7 but its when players really start betting you need to be concerned. Some players will go all in on a raise reraise for 100BB and seem shocked when the lose to pocket nine or tens or 75 or some other random hand. To often you will see someone just putting in so many chips with this very venerable hand.

B

BIGAUS

Rock Star
Platinum Level
Total posts
Chips
I think cautiously optimistic is a way to play them. Usually with middle-to-low pocket pairs, your hope is to flop a set or a draw of some sort where you maybe have top pair or second top pair plus a flush or straight draw. Don't be too over aggressive with your hand unless you do flop a combination of draws to a top hand or you sense weakness from your opponent with hand history and can force them to fold.

A

alien666dj

Legend