The mythical "Standard Raise"

AllenKll

AllenKll

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I started playing poker online in 2006 or so, and when I studied the material, the 'standard raise' in a Tournament was 3-4x big blinds.

I took a few years off poker, but now as I'm getting back into it, I keep getting told that the standard raise is 2.2x

Why is this? I don't see a 2.2x raise giving any kind of advantage over a min raise - which has no teeth at all.

I'm re-raising - all day - people who min raise. I see them as weak, or playing with scared money. A poker pro I chatted with briefly told me that he sees people that open at 3-4x as recreational players and don't understand the game.

Well, I don't want to be a fish, so I need to understand. How do you get any kind of fold equity out of a 2.2-2.3x raise? Especially when there antes involved and a full table. with 2.2x you are giving many people pot odds to call with junk, especially the blinds.

How has this logic changed in the last, I guess, 15 years? What new information has come to light to say that 2.2x gives more power over a 3.5x raise?

Now, I'm talking about first in the pot action here, 3-bets and 4-bets are a different animal, and we can reserve that for another time.

Any and all comments welcome.

Roller

Roller

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
Doesn't make much sense but it is common now days. You have very little fold equity with such a small raise but I think much of it is dependent on the stakes that you play and the table that your on. Everything is just a base line or starting point in my opinion and if if somehow works keep doing it.

thehangdude

thehangdude

Visionary
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
I decided to resurrect this thread because AllenKll asks the question better than I could.