How do you approach incessant raisers at your table?

C

Cat Daddy

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
US
Chips
My dad and I were in a tournament the other night. My table was pretty normal, but my dad's table was populated by a few players that raised every hand--specifically one player in particular raised BIG most hands.

How do you approach those incessant raisers when you can't seem to get a couple of good cards, especially when your chip stack is lower than theirs? Any tips? I'm new to real life tournaments.

dannystanks

dannystanks

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
US
Chips
Just be patient for a good hand to play back. Raise big on this guy especially if you have position on them. Playing a big pot in position with the goods against this guy would be a great situation!

lcid86

lcid86

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
Gotta tighten up and then attack. Also, good to know what hands he is valuing. Is he just looking for action or is he betting big with quality hands?

mattiebumpo

mattiebumpo

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
Agree with the others...just need to avoid them until you have a big hand and then reraise (big).

Gh0stL

Gh0stL

Visionary
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
PE
Chips
Hi, I agree with the majority, be patience and with good hands get a lot chips that you can. Good luck.

K

Kurchina

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
BA
Chips
Yeah, what others have had. No bluffing, and play tighter than you normally would.

SpanRmonka

SpanRmonka

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
GB
Chips
Agree with what has been said so far, but also, don't fall into the trap of thinking they can't have it every time and go up against them with a less than quality holding, especially if you've managed to see a flop.
Remember everyone gets the same distribution of good hands and good flops, in theory.

M

mrflip09

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips