Calling Middle Pairs against 3 Bets

L

LEV1ATHAN

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey, I'm new to poker tournaments and have a question regarding 3 bets at a shorter stack sizes such as 25-35bb. Not looking for anything specific more looking for principles of what you do against a 3bet lets say you're in Early position, raise, and an average reg in late position 3 bets a regular size and you have 66. What goes into your decision making to call or fold or whatever you do.

Thanks

B

bioman420

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I wouldn't pay, but there are many players who pay without malice.

K

karl coakley

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Position matter in poker. When you are early, the odds of getting called or 3bet are much higher.

At BEST you are going to be 50-50. The problem is with a small pair there is a high risk of getting called by a bigger pair. Also, hands like 66 are hard to play. Rarely are you going to see a board without several overcards. If the flop is A-J-5 what is the plan? You are only 50-50 with a 5 card board, you going to chase a 2 outter hoping you're good?

If you have 100 BB and wanted to splash around I'm good with that. See a flop. At 25-35BB it usually isn't wise to play small pairs early because you don't have the chips to justify the risks.

shinmenkami

shinmenkami

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
The question is, how much can you profit if you flip the set? If the ratio is 20:1 or higher you should call the bet. In the long run you will flip the set about 12% of the time, that way you will have maximum profit (or minimum loss when you dont hit it)

Z

Zirkzee

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips