Twice today

TheRifle

TheRifle

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Twice today in freerolls, I feel that I have been unlucky - does happen I guess. The two hands were similar so I will only quote one. This is a freeroll rebuy, I have shown QQ and AK only so far during the tournament, each time betting about 4BB and showing the cards when everyone folded.

About half an hour in, I am in mid-position and have QQ. Everyone folds till me, I bet 4BBs (120 out of 1400 chipstack) Everyone folds up to big blind, an erratic player with about 1100 chips, who calls. The flop is Jh 5s 9h. I bet 360, thinking I am probably in front. BB raises to 720 and I move all-in, he calls. Turn 5d; river 6c. He turns over 5h Kh and I lose.

I have limited experience but I don't think he was correct in calling pre-flop and certainly he was bold re-raising on a draw plus low pair. My main question is could I expect the same sort of play in say a 30$ STT or MTT? If not, at about what level of buy-ins, do the majority of players stop playing like this?

Please feel free to criticise, analyze, commiserate or even try to answer my question...

Thanks,

A

alan1983

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Actually he was a 51% favourite to win after flop.

Any heart (9), any 5(2) and any king (3) wins him the hand. Thats 14 outs.

Add to that the chance that you could have missed flop with say AQ and AK.

Id re-raise if i was him too, specially when im short stacked. Since hes 51% favourite the least he could do is call, and since its 360 and he has 1100, its the right move imo for him to go all-in.

TheRifle

TheRifle

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Sort of agree with you after the flop although 51% favourite is not something to write home about, and in my opinion if the blinds are at 30, I would be tempted to call hoping for a heart, in the knowledge that I wasn't betting my tourney against someone drawing to fullhouse or higher flush.