Did I make a good move

Lespaul_Lover

Lespaul_Lover

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello everyone, I am new to this whole poker thing as I started studying poker and really reading about it and so on a few months ago. I do not play for cash because my intent is to just get my skills sharpened. Anyways, here is a hand that I played just a few minutes ago, and looking back on it I am wondering if I was gambling to hard.. Any advice/opinions? Thanks a ton!!

https://www.replaypoker.com/hand/replay/132146606/straight-ten-to-ace

S

SnowedIn

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
what are you trying to achieve by betting on the flop?
Bet much bigger pre, should be more like 200/250.
Call on turn is fine
Why aren't you raising the river?

Lespaul_Lover

Lespaul_Lover

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Reply to SnowedIn

Yes, betting higher on the pre flop is a great idea.
I have no idea why I betted on the flop lol maybe to mask what I had?
What is your reasoning as to why calling on the river is ok? Doesn't that go against my pot odds?
Because I had an adrenaline rush probably haha I'm kinda fishy :p

Thanks for the reply!

Jacki Burkhart

Jacki Burkhart

long winded rambler...
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
every tiny bet you made only serves to build a pot as nobody will fold if they have any kind of hand or any kind of draw given those odds. So you should only make those kinds of tiny bets when you WANT people to stick around. (i.e. a monster that is hard to draw out on).

Then, when you finally have a monster (the stone cold nuts) you just flatted. that is backwards my friend. You have to raise the river hoping that a random Q will look you up.

So, my advice is as follows: