getting maximum value

M

Mooronic

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
What’s the correct play?

I was at a live tourney yesterday in a local free poker league. Full table, relatively small blinds compared to the average chip stacks. The table was playing really aggressively with all-ins being called seemingly every other hand. I was playing pretty tight, but had won a few hands recently leaving me with a nice chip stack. I’m no expert at this, but based on betting patterns & showed hands I knew enough to realize that most players at the table were not very good poker players - expected at a free tourney.

I was on the sb and limped in with Ks 4c with about 6 other callers.

The flop shows Kh, Kc, 8s. Out of position, I checked hoping for some check/raise action. Everyone else checked and the turn showed 3h.

Again I was the first to bet. What should I have done to get maximum value out of the hand?

t1riel

t1riel

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Well, checking isn't a bad option here with a trips on a rainbow board. If these players really are as bad as they say they are, I would have put a minimum bet on the flop. Bad players would call because there are 2 cards left. Good players will see the bet as "I have trip Kings and trying to get some money out of it" and they will fold. If someone raises, call. On the turn, check/call. On the river, make a big bet. Other than that, I can't see any other way to get more money out of this hand.

M

Mooronic

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I checked on the flop (checked all around) and got scared by the 3h - flush draw with 6 players. I went all in. Everyone folded leaving me kicking myself while picking up only the blinds.

In hindsight I should've done what you said - check or min raise and wait for the river for the big bet. I'm pretty sure that's a leak in my game - it's not the first time it happened. Read somewhere it's a common novice mistake.

Bombjack

Bombjack

Legend
Silver Level