Was my fold correct?

CueMaster71

CueMaster71

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Second hand of a $20 9-seater SNG. I've got no knowledge of any other player,and no-one made any move on the first hand, so we're all pretty even with 2000 chips.

UTG raises the blind from 40 to 120.
2nd folds.
3rd raises to 200
4th calls
I'm in fifth with AKs, and I call.
Everyone else folds.
The original raiser re-raises all-in for 2000
3rd place calls.
4th folds.
I decide at least one of them has AA or KK so I fold.
They turn over JJ and 10-10.
The flop is rags, but turn and river bring Ace and King.

I know that was irrelevant, it could easily have brought two more rags, and I'd have been out, and I was fairly happy with my laydown (even though I'd have had 6000 by now).

So, my question is, do you think I did the right thing, or would you have called?

Incidentally, while writing this I've just had my 10-J on a flop of 10-J-4 rainbow cracked by a flush-chaser hitting runner-runner cards and I'm out!!:mad:

S

Styrofoam

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
yes, that was the correct action....

when you have two people going at it like that, its likely one of them at least has a big pp. Even if they don't have a big one, that is pretty much 100% one of them as a pair of something, to which you are a dog. Do *NOT* i repeat DO NOT put all your chips in when you have the worst of it...especially EARLY in teh tournament...

You made the right decision imo.

ChuckTs

ChuckTs

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
This should be a raise or fold. You aren't closing the action (ie there's still the original raiser yet to act behind you) by smooth-calling, and are sandwiched between the raiser and the reraiser.

With QQ+ I autopush here, but with AKs, it's kind of a toss-up. In reality I think I push, but maybe folding is the better option. Overvaluing AK in the early stages of SnGs is kind of a leak for me.

zebranky

zebranky

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips