$10 NLHE MTT: AK early in MTT ($11 Sunday Storm)

M

mstram

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I satellite'd into today's Sunday Storm, planning to play "taggy / nitty", as I have very little experience in anything other than micro limits.

Should I have 3bet preflop ?

Should I have 3bet any of the streets?

Hand Information

pokerstars No Limit, 100 BB (9 handed).

Villian vp=16 pr=9 (87 hands)
Hero vp=37 pr=21

Table Information

Seat: 1 (BTN)Hero (t9732)
Seat: 9 (CO) villian (t5170)

Dealt to Hero
AH.png
KH.png

Preflop (Pot:150)
(5 folds)

villian RAISE $300
Hero CALL $300

SB FOLD
BB FOLD

Flop(Pot: $750)
JC.png
8S.png
JS.png

villian BET $375
Hero CALL $375

Turn(Pot: $1500)
JC.png
8S.png
JS.png
QH.png

villian BET $750
Hero CALL $750

River(Pot: $3000)
JC.png
8S.png
JS.png
QH.png
8D.png

villian BET $3000
Hero ???

J

J_moly88

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I would 3bet pre-flop to 8-900. As he's not a maniac I would fold to a 4bet.

As played I would have got away from the hand on the turn, possibly even on the flop.

M

mstram

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Ya, I called pretty quickly, and immediately regretted not taking a few seconds at least to think it over.

Another thought in hindsight, is to shove ?? , as I have him outstacked by almost 2:1.

Not pleasant to think about losing half your stack, but how often do you get AK ?

.... Heh, well in my case it was 1 / 123 hands.

J

J_moly88

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
To shove when? On the river, he only needs to put in another 600ish chips I think, so that's an instant call.

As for shoving pre, wouldn't be my plan of attack at >50bb deep, you'll either be winning the blinds, or probably end up behind on the range of hands you'd probably get called with.

T

thatgreekdude

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips