$1.50 NLHE STT: 87s 2nd hand of 9 player S&G - Am I a Moron?

O

OldMillennial

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Long time lurker, first time poster - thanks for all the advice I've gleaned in the background over the past few months!

Now, down to business:
$1.50 9 player S&G, 2nd hand, Bet Online. I'm brand new to this format and have never seen any of the villains before. Everyone has about 74 - 75bb stacks to open (SB won 1st hand and has 79bb. I'm the big blind with 87s (diamond) and exactly 75bb

UTG: Folds
HJ: Folds
Co: raises 3bb
Btn: calls
SB: Calls
BB: calls

Flop: 2d, Ad, 9c -- pot is 12bb

SB: checks
BB: I raise 7bb
Co: Folds
Btn: Folds
SB: All in (raises 69bb)

Pot is now 95 bb, I have 65bb remaining, giving me 41.667% pot odds (by my calcuations) to win 165bb.

BB: Calls

SB: turns over AJo (spade, club)
BB: turns over 87s (diamonds)

Turn: 2d, Ad, 9c, Qh
River: 2d, Ad, 9c, Qh, 10d

BB wins with A high flush

‐-----‐----------
By my calculations: I had a decent chance to hit the flush and a small chance to hit the straight after the flop: (9/47+9/46)+((8/47)x(8/46))=41.674% to hit straight or flush

By a very marginal 0.007% +EV, I hung by that thread and won, in my view.

Now, to my question:

Following the hand, UTG posted "I hate when morons hit their flush" and 2 other players agreed. I'm new, so I wasn't sure about that sentiment. Had it just been the loser of the hand, I'd write it off as sour grapes. But was my math wrong? Are S&G's just tighter and I should not chase unless I have better EV? Or, are they wrong (or just trying to ruffle the new guys feathers strategically)?

I assumed this would fall under the toss up category and I had decided prior to the game that I was going to call on toss ups early to try to build my stack or cut my losses and try again more quickly. Perhaps, though, this was inherently stupid so I wanted your thoughts.