rindhoops

rindhoops

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Holdem Indicator V1.2.8 review
By Rindhoops. July 2007

First I would like to point out that I am not connected with HI (Holdem Indicator)
in any way and that I am a beginner to poker (7 weeks playing @ roughly
8 hours a day & counting). So this review is from the perspective of a beginner.

Getting a licence:
I was nearly put off by the sales pitch claiming HI is totally free, which is nearly true.
You can either buy it $69.95 (that’s not free!) or sign up for one of their affiliate Poker
rooms (that sounds free?) but you must deposit $50 minimum and play 200 raked hands.

Note: The exception to the $50 minimum is with party poker at $25, sadly I already had an
account there.

I guess if you was going to sign up to one of their affiliates anyway then it would be a
good deal (that’s free!) but if not, you at least have a good chance to win your
money back, especially as you get a bonus on your deposit at most Poker rooms.

It took me about 8 hours of playing like a fish to get my 200 rakes on the 2c\5c ring games,
(to qualify for the hand you must see the flop) it was embarrassing playing like that as I
am a very tight player usually. I also prefer SnGs & MTT so was not that happy. Ho hum.
So for my "free licence" it cost me 50 bucks plus 8 hours of my time playing at a Poker room
I didn’t want to be at, and playing a game, that I didn’t enjoy, just to kill the rake.

Another temporary restriction is you cannot use HI at any other Poker room until you have
completed your 200 rakes, I would of liked to have spread my time out between my favoured
Poker Room (Party Poker) and the new hated one!.

Note: To see how many raked hands you have played click on the "Tools" menu then "about" and
if it says >200 you have paid your penance.

Before doing all this I had searched for reviews and forum comments concerning HI and found