Bovada Poker Card Catcher HUD Support Thread

John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
The Bovada Poker Card Catcher will allow you to run any HUD from your Holdem Manager or Poker Tracker system. Gain the advantage of setting up your HUD and tracking all your sessions in real time.

Main Site link:
Bovada Poker Card Catcher HUD

Trial:
3-day Free Trial

Supports:
Limit, No-limit, and PLO
 
R

rumsey182

Rock Star
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Total posts
432
ok but how does this not get you banned i thought bovada was anti HUD? Also there was another thing that would do this, but it did not link into pokertracker i think

seems amazing thou
 
Dwilius

Dwilius

CardsChat Regular
Joined
May 5, 2008
Total posts
7,583
Awards
34
Interested, seems others are also - Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 22 (1 members and 21 guests)
 
Last edited:
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
ok but how does this not get you banned i thought bovada was anti HUD? Also there was another thing that would do this, but it did not link into pokertracker i think

seems amazing thou

No, it's not against their TOC's. They are anti player tracking. You still can't track players from session to session, but you can run a HUD in game for that session.
 
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
Interested, seems others are also - Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 22 (1 members and 21 guests)

It took us a lot longer than I had hoped to get this project done, but I love it. I've been using it on my own sessions for the last 4+ months.

Cool thing is if you have pokertracker then it will also take auto notes for you (or if you have notecaddy with HM).
 
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
FYI, anyone who has the bovada converter is going to get 25% off the price for the card catcher HUD. So if you own the converter you can contact support and they will set you up with the special link pricing.
 
XXPXXP

XXPXXP

Legend
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Total posts
5,511
Awards
2
Interested in Tournaments and SNG converter
PS: ask a question
each new table , does the converter rest the HUD data or I need to reset from HM2/PT4 by myself?

THank you in advance.
 
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
Interested in Tournaments and SNG converter
PS: ask a question
each new table , does the converter rest the HUD data or I need to reset from HM2/PT4 by myself?

THank you in advance.

If I'm understanding your question correctly, each new table that is added, a new unique ID is attached to each player / seat number. So the data is specific to that player that you're playing against on that table. If a player leaves, and a new player sits, then a new unique ID is created and new stats begin to get generated for that player / seat number.

This way when you review your hands in your database, you'll also be able to see what kind of player you were facing as well. Not to mention that in real time this is important as well.

Yeah, tournament support isn't too far behind. It's just a little trickier than cash games for several reasons.
 
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
I want to add since I'm getting a lot of e-mails and PM's about this:

If you have table mods, the HUD will not work as well. Also, you need to turn off game play and winning hand animations in your bovada settings window. If you do this, it will work like a charm. We've done over 5 months of testing with 10 beta testers. Some of the testers are from this forum too.

But any ways, I also have been using it and love it. It will take a couple of minutes to get everything setup like you want, but once you do you'll be happy. :)
 
XXPXXP

XXPXXP

Legend
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Total posts
5,511
Awards
2
I want to add since I'm getting a lot of e-mails and PM's about this:

If you have table mods, the HUD will not work as well. Also, you need to turn off game play and winning hand animations in your bovada settings window. If you do this, it will work like a charm. We've done over 5 months of testing with 10 beta testers. Some of the testers are from this forum too.

But any ways, I also have been using it and love it. It will take a couple of minutes to get everything setup like you want, but once you do you'll be happy. :)

just ask, are u able to provide a sample video, and uploaded to Youtube as demo ? looks pretty complicated to use this tools.
thank you in advance
 
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
In the software itself, there's a tutorial on how to use it. There's either 3-4 steps to setup depending on which database you use. Most everything is automated.

It's really not hard. It's not any more difficult than setting up and running HM or PT. Once you set it up which might take 1 minute to do, you just click catch hands and load your database from that point on. If you can play poker, you can figure it out, but if you have specific questions or get stuck on something, just ask and I'm more than happy to help.
 
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
We have a new version up (.10). Just working out some small kinks.

Bovada Poker Catcher

If anyone needs an extended trial also, let me know.
 
dj11

dj11

Legend
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Total posts
23,189
Awards
9
A couple of areas of interest for me;

I assume that using this for ZONE games will not happen. With an ever changing player pool any data other than our own would be useless?

Also, in the case where there is a waiting list, and the instant a player leaves he is replaced, with a new player with the same player number. Does this software catch the change? Assume I am asking about a nearly instantaneous change of the player behind the number.
 
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
A couple of areas of interest for me;

I assume that using this for ZONE games will not happen. With an ever changing player pool any data other than our own would be useless?

Also, in the case where there is a waiting list, and the instant a player leaves he is replaced, with a new player with the same player number. Does this software catch the change? Assume I am asking about a nearly instantaneous change of the player behind the number.

Yes, for zone games it's useless since there's no player names. Even if we could catch all the data, it's not helpful unless you can track a player (like on rush for example).

A random player ID is generated for every player so that when you review stats you can view the play against that kind of opponent and know how they played against you. When a player leaves and a new player sits, the software detects this and creates a new player ID.
 
J

Jftwin

Rising Star
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Total posts
2
Will this work without HM or PT? I plan on getting one of the two but unfortunately I need to find a solution to my mac troubles. Currently trying a trial of parallels.

EDIT: Any plans for mac support in the future so I won't have to use an emulator?
 
bkniefel

bkniefel

Visionary
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Total posts
525
Thanks for the info! You have to be careful about these things.
 
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
Will this work without HM or PT? I plan on getting one of the two but unfortunately I need to find a solution to my mac troubles. Currently trying a trial of parallels.

EDIT: Any plans for mac support in the future so I won't have to use an emulator?

No, you need HM or PT. No plans on mac support at this time. :(
 
J

Jftwin

Rising Star
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Total posts
2
Alright thanks for the reply john. Just one more question and it may be a silly one but bare with me :p

I have plans to buy PT for my mac. I play on bovada, and would need your converter to download the hands (I can acess a windows computer for this)

Would it be better to buy your card catcher as is there some way I can convert hands with it? The problem is I play the majority of my time on a Mac but can use a windows computer to download hand histories
 
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
Well, if you were just on a windows machine, then the bovada card catcher is all you'd need. If you're going to be running PT on a mac, then this won't be possible, so you'd just need the converter instead.
 
J

jalthi

Rising Star
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Total posts
12
Is there any specific order I should be loading card catcher vs the bovada table? Or any other thing I should do to get things working?

Everything was working fine this morning, but now I've loaded up BCC and the Bovada table and nothing is being caught. No handhistories are being written to my Bovada Card Catcher/handhistories/ folder whereas earlier today it was creating and updating a file for my table.
 
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
I'm not sure, but maybe close it again and try and start catching again? Hard to say without seeing exactly what you're doing why it isn't grabbing a file, but that would be my first basic suggestion.
 
J

jalthi

Rising Star
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Total posts
12
Judging by my log file it's having problems if I resize the window, throwing out index out of bounds of array errors.

Strange, since I was using it resized earlier without a hitch. It seems to be ok using the default Bovada window size now.

Since I'm assuming the card catcher is using some sort of OCR, how finicky do I have to be? Can I change background colors using the default Bovada client (not using any mods)? Minor quibble, but the default red starts to melt my eyeballs after awhile. Also, do I have to be careful in my placement of the HUD over certain areas of the window?
 
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
Re-sizing shouldn't be an issue, but we have had a couple of problems in the last version. But in general it should not be an issue, along with background colors for the tables, and 4 color decks. The only main issue comes up with mods, and those can be a problem.

No placement of HUD does not effect anything.
 
John A

John A

Poker Zion Coach
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Total posts
6,406
Awards
3
I put up a new version (.12) that should be vastly improved for PT. HM was already functionally really well, but this should significantly improve the PT imports.
 
J

jalthi

Rising Star
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Total posts
12
Re-sizing shouldn't be an issue, but we have had a couple of problems in the last version. But in general it should not be an issue, along with background colors for the tables, and 4 color decks. The only main issue comes up with mods, and those can be a problem.

Maybe it shouldn't, but it's definitely causing issues on my end. Catcher works great if I keep Bovada window default, but when I resize it, I get this error in BCC.log multiple times per second (I'm literally watching the log file size grow by about 5kb per second when resized and catcher is on):

System.IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.
at BovadaHHGenerator.BoardModel.UY2fydd3FH()
at BovadaHHGenerator.BoardModel..ctor(Bitmap bmp, Int32 tableType, GameType gameType, String path, String stake, Size size, String tableTitle, StacksModel stacks, BetsModel bets, MainPotModel mainPot, TotalPotModel totalPot, SidePotModel sidePot, CurrentHandModel currentHand, CommunityCardsModel communityCards, PlayersCardsModel playerCards, PlayersCaptionModel playerCaptions, HeroSeatNumberModel heroSeatNumber, IntPtr handle)
at BovadaHHGenerator.Game.hUsmT0XbrL(IntPtr )
 
Bovada Poker - Bovada Casino
Top