Ronaldadio

Ronaldadio

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello all.

I am over my mood now and back playing.

I hope I didn`t offend anyone with my rant last week, but I`m over it now.

My problem was quite simple. I could not get my head around the poker concept - I need to draw a comparison to things and truly understand what my aim is. (I work as a consultant in real life, so this is what I do for a living)

I`m not an emotional person, I think logically, I`m competative, not affraid to gamble and I have a very good mathematical brain - all, I would guess, very good traits for playing poker.

So I could sit for ever and read books on poker, take it all in, make the right moves, be patient, etc.

I have now found a comparison to something I can relate to that should get me around the bad beat situation, although I`m sure in the years to come I`ll still get frustrated!!!

The best comparison I can make to poker is horse racing. You will bet based on form, the going, the other horses in the race, etc. You end up picking the 1:5 fav for the race (we will call this horse `pocket aces`). Now you know that horse should win, and most of the time it does. However, on every 5th race in a 2 horse race it comes second - the 5:1 shot catches it just before the line!!!

The next time u bet on Pocket Aces you are in a 4 horse race. pocket aces is still fav, but on this occasion it is only 1:2 fav.

So, do u get my drift???

This helps me to come to terms with poker - a game I`m fairly new to (one year or so)

It might help others :D

P.S. I`m away this weekend, but you better all be aware - I don`t care how good you think u r, I WILL take you out when I get back ;)

beardyian

beardyian

Scary Clown
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Good to see you back and had a re-think about your game.

It is always worth looking at your own game - find the strengths, weakness', where to improve etc.

See you at the tables soon then :)

bubbasbestbabe

bubbasbestbabe

Suckout Queen