Time taken to becoming a winning player

T

Tails97

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey everyone,

Just recently started playing again and was just wondering how long it took people to start becoming winning players and if there was any game changing tips that helped you become a winning player.

Phoenix Wright

Phoenix Wright

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I can't really say as I was lucky enough to win my first MTT with the potential to win money! (it was an event through cardschat).

At least for my limited experience, a lot of the "winning" comes BEFORE you ever get to the tables though. I studied a lot of the cardschat course, took detailed notes and even read a few poker books from cover to cover - for sure it helped me play well...and perhaps get a bit lucky too ;)

My preparation gave me a better chance to get "lucky" though :)

One tip of advice which helped me a lot (although simple) was to "bluff less and value bet more." I (and many others starting) have a natural inclination to try and trap opponents, but sometimes it is better to play straight-forward and bet your stronger hands :D

Chica_bonita

Chica_bonita

Sad Funny Lady🌬
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
RU
Chips
Hey everyone,

Just recently started playing again and was just wondering how long it took people to start becoming winning players and if there was any game changing tips that helped you become a winning player.

Hello!:wavey:
To be honest, I've never been a winner (except on one occasion when I won a $215 tournament ticket for first place). I won prizes in tournaments with monetary rewards, but I couldn't win. I believe that the best teacher is practice, and I openly write about it everywhere: in practice you will meet something that will not be written about in books.
Don't worry about losing and strive for victories. Good luck!:icon_flow

N

Negan92222

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips