how much to bet

C

clink97

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I am pretty new at playing hold'em and I don't really know how much I should bet when I have a good hand and am playing no limit.

H

Hawkeye

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Shouldn't play no limit.

Not saying you are not good enuf to play no limit, but if u are starting out, then start with a limit game, or better yet, if you are playing real money, start out on small tourneys with a $1 to $5 entry fee to get your feet wet. It is always best to play tight in your circumstance and unless you are sure of the success of your cards, fold if you are in bad position or call the minimum bet or small raise. Until you get a feel for a table or the people on the table, don't get crazy and go all in cause it looks like you have the nuts. Set out teasers and collect as much information as you can with good cards. I hate to say the table will dictate what you bet, but it will be safer for you in the long run.

That and a .25 will get u a cup of bad coffee.

:s:

RammerJammer

RammerJammer

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
It would be nice to have a formula for how much to bet. There are so many variables involved, it's impossible to cover them all here. For instance, is it a ring game with set blinds? Or is it a tournament where the blinds increase incremently throughout the event? What position are you in at the table? Are your opponents playing very tight or really loose? How large is your stack? What is the strength of your hand relative to all of the above?

I strongly recommend some reading on poker fundamentals, which will address betting in a lot of different situations. My favorites are Doyle Brunson's "Super System" & "Super System II", Tom McEvoy with T.J. Cloutier on "Championship No-Limit & Pot-Limit Hold 'Em", and "How to Play Poker Like the Pros" by Phil Helmuth. But there's a lot more great poker books out there.