Help with equity

BnaD

BnaD

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
So I'm trying to analyze a spot where I busted a tourney earlier. In the hand I get it in 99 vs AQo and at first I thought my play was the correct one, but when I plug my hand vs range of hands villain will call my jam with I am an underdog. Does this mean my play was bad? I'm unsure of how to factor fold equity in here. Is there some formula for taking hands that would 3bet but fold to a jam and apply it to the equity I have here? I'm really trying to improve. This is like the 10th tourney I have busted this week with under 20 people left but short of the final table and it's leading me to 2nd guess some of the plays I'm making. 3-4 table sit and goes are my bread and butter and fund all tourney buy-ins I make. So when I make it this far to not even make the final table...like I said I'm 2nd guessing. What other factors apply to equity here that I might overlook. I'm very new to using an equity calculator. Thanks in advance.

F

forest_leaves

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Theres quite a lot going on that you cant just go by an equity calculator, I mainly play cash myself atm, but your stack size vs your opponents, and your relative stack size etc needs to be factored in when you go for a all-in in later stages of a tournament, I'd even fold pocket aces if I am going to be all in against the top chip leader when Im the 2nd chip leader etc...

You probably made a right call if you were short stack imo, read some books and watch some tournaments late stage to re evaluate your strategy I'd say

K

kdawg71

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips