Guide: How to make a video (with lots of pictures).

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mischman

Legend
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Total posts
2,959
I asked a certain person to make a guide 5 days ago and he said he would, but he hasn't so im making mine own. If you need help, let me know, I’ll be nice.
<O:p</O:p
DOWNLOAD http://www.videolan.org/vlc/ ~!!EVERYONE!!~
<O:p</O:p
Step 1: Download and install Camtasia
<O:p</O:p
http://www.techsmith.com/download/camtasiatrial.asp

<O:p</O:p
<O:p</O:p
Step 2: Once starting the software your screen will look like this. Click ‘Start a new project by recording the screen.’
startupscreenjb9.jpg

<O:p></O:p>




Step 3: 2 windows will pop up. Close the one on the right, we will deal with it later. On the left window click > Tools > Options. Make the ‘capture’ and ‘video’ tab look like the 2 screenshots below. Save. These options are set forever, you never need to deal with them again. Close all screens but the main Camtasia program.
.
optionssx1.jpg
.
.
options2az1.jpg

<O:p></O:p>





Step 4: Go into the Camtasia software and at the top left you will see ‘Record the screen’ Click that and it will bring back the 2 windows. Click the ‘Record this region of the screen.’
2windowslz5.jpg

<O:p></O:p>





Step 5: This window will show up. Set the ‘X’ and ‘Y’ pixels to ‘1’ and ‘1’. The dimensions is where it gets tricky. You set it to what area of the screen you want to do starting from the top left of the screen. If you set it to ‘100 by 100’ it will record the top left of the screen in a 100 pixel square. The default size of a pokerstars Table is 800 x 575. If you want to record just one table, set it to that and stick the table in the top left corner.
sizedz2.jpg

<O:p></O:p>






Step 6: Check the ‘Record Audio’ box and follow the directions.
micbf5.jpg







<O:p></O:p>
Step 7: Once you Have ‘Finished’ setting up everything in that screen(step 6) will disappear and you are now ready to record. Assuming you are using the default 1 table. Stick the top in the top left and click ‘F9’ on your screen to start recording’
tablerecordingbw7.jpg

<O:p></O:p>





Step 8: Click ‘F10’ when you are done. It will pop it up in a screen and you should click save(AVI) and save it to your desktop.
<O:p></O:p>





Step 9: This screen will pop up, click ‘Produce my video in a shareable format.”
aftersavingiq4.jpg

<O:p></O:p>





Step 10: Click ‘Custom Production Settings’
aftersaving2uq0.jpg

<O:p></O:p>






Step 11: Save it as a WMV.
aftersaving3tm2.jpg

<O:p></O:p>







Step 12: When you get to this window enter the dimensions you set to record. Default PS Table is 800 x 575.
aftersaving4si3.jpg

<O:p></O:p>




Step 13: the video is going to ‘render,’ this is going to take a long time.
<O:p></O:p>



Step 14: Go to www.MegaUpload.com and submit your video, its free hosting.
 
Jack Daniels

Jack Daniels

Charcoal Mellowed
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Total posts
13,414
Excellent instructions Misch. Great job. (and coherent. ;)).

+ rep
 
Stick66

Stick66

Legend
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Total posts
6,374
Now if you could do one of these on how to VIEW your video, you'd be rockin'.

For me, VLC just shows a still picture of the first frame of your video while the slider moves along normally. The only way I can see any motion is if I fast forward, but then I can't follow the action. How about some help with setting up VLC like this??
 
stormswa

stormswa

Legend
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Total posts
3,546
hey

Now if you could do one of these on how to VIEW your video, you'd be rockin'.

For me, VLC just shows a still picture of the first frame of your video while the slider moves along normally. The only way I can see any motion is if I fast forward, but then I can't follow the action. How about some help with setting up VLC like this??

have you watched any of mine? are you having any problems watching mine?

if you are having problems watching mine then it is on your side and not ours.
 
Stick66

Stick66

Legend
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Total posts
6,374
have you watched any of mine? are you having any problems watching mine?

if you are having problems watching mine then it is on your side and not ours.
Storm, yours is a WMA and Misch's is some weird AVI format that won't run on my WMP. Yours plays just fine for me.
 
stormswa

stormswa

Legend
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Total posts
3,546
sometime today I will be getting together online with Misch and we will get this all sorted out so you guys wont have this problem again.
 
M

mischman

Legend
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Total posts
2,959
This isnt a problem, use VLC or download the codec
 
Stefanicov

Stefanicov

Legend
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Total posts
1,631
there has to be a reason why yours dont play on wmp.

there is it isan avi file wich microsoft dont carry codsec on all u have to do is use the addon i put in above
 
stormswa

stormswa

Legend
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Total posts
3,546
there is it isan avi file wich microsoft dont carry codsec on all u have to do is use the addon i put in above



I know I didn't realize something that Misch told me in PM and now its figured out.

was just trying to figure out why mine were getting saved as WMP and his were not and now I know.
 
Stick66

Stick66

Legend
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Total posts
6,374
Now if you could do one of these on how to VIEW your video, you'd be rockin'.

For me, VLC just shows a still picture of the first frame of your video while the slider moves along normally. The only way I can see any motion is if I fast forward, but then I can't follow the action. How about some help with setting up VLC like this??

This isnt a problem, use VLC or download the codec
Sorry. I'm always the problem.
 
LuckyShark777

LuckyShark777

Visionary
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Total posts
591
Misch You Rock! I Love It!:D:D:D:D:D
 
Stick66

Stick66

Legend
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Total posts
6,374
Error Message?
You've encountered error message C00D11B1 while using Windows Media Player. The following information might help you troubleshoot the issue.
Cannot play the file

Windows Media Player cannot play the file. You might encounter this error message for one of the following reasons:
  • <LI xmlns:mnp="http://www.microsoft.com/MSCOM/MNP2/Schemas">Your sound device, such as a sound card or sound controller, requires an updated driver. To determine if an updated driver is available, see Windows Update at the Microsoft Web site, or see the sound device manufacturer's Web site.
  • Your sound device is not functioning properly. Try using Device Manager to check the status of your sound device.
    whplus.gif
    To check the status of your sound device

    1. Do one of the following:
      • If you are running Windows XP, click Start, right-click My Computer, and then click Manage.
      • If you are running Windows Vista, click Start, right-click Computer, and then click Manage.
    2. In the pane on the left, click Device Manager.
    3. In the pane on the right, expand Sound, video and game controllers, and then look for the name of your sound device.
    4. Do one of the following:
      • If your sound device is listed but the icon includes a red "X," the device has been disabled. To enable the device, right-click the icon, and then click Enable.
      • If your sound device is not listed, in the pane on the right, expand Other devices. If Multimedia Audio Controller appears in the list, right-click the icon, and then click Update Driver or Update Driver Software. Follow the on-screen instructions to find and install the driver software.
        If you are not able to find and install the correct driver software, see your computer manufacturer's or sound device manufacturer's Web site for further assistance.
    <LI xmlns:mnp="http://www.microsoft.com/MSCOM/MNP2/Schemas">You do not have a sound device installed on your computer. Install a sound device, and then try to play the file again. For details, see your computer manufacturer's or sound device manufacturer's Web site.
    <LI xmlns:mnp="http://www.microsoft.com/MSCOM/MNP2/Schemas">You are trying to play a file on the Internet and the server might be temporarily unavailable or there might be a network issue. Try again later.
  • You are trying to play an MP3 file that contains compressed ID3 headers. The ID3 header is a portion of the file that stores the song's album information (for example, the song name, artist name, album name, and genre). This information is sometimes called a "tag."
    To fix the problem, make a copy of the file and then use a non-Microsoft ID3 tag editing program to remove or reset the file's ID3 headers. After you remove the ID3 headers, Windows Media Player should be able to play the MP3 file.
    Attempting to remove ID3 headers might damage the file and make it unplayable. Therefore, always make a copy of the file before you edit it.
    If this solution does not resolve the problem, the file might be corrupted.
My sound card is fine and plays everything else fine. Drivers are updated regularly. This file has no sound anyway.
 
M

mischman

Legend
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Total posts
2,959
TBH, the reason that video was playing slow for some people is how it was recorded. People following my above directions shouldnt have that problem.

Stick, just go to VLC and customize the fast forward speed.
 
joosebuck

joosebuck

Legend
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Total posts
4,193
i was gonna be ironic and make a video on how to make a poker video for the contest 8[
 
stormswa

stormswa

Legend
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Total posts
3,546
Admin can you sticky this? people keep asking how to make video and it was pain to find this thread!
 
jaymfc

jaymfc

R.I.P DJ & Buck
Loyaler
Joined
May 3, 2007
Total posts
14,739
Awards
77
thanks misch ,this is gonna be cool , im on step one downloading the vlc player,my computer is slow so the whole process will be long for me, but it will be worth it. good lookin out. :) will be back for reread as needed.lol
 
HartAttack3

HartAttack3

Visionary
Joined
Mar 12, 2007
Total posts
656
misch you rock +rep, maybe this whole video thing can get me some help on my play and i can start makin money lol. and storm man, i miss ya just had to say that since i never see ya anymore lol
 
R

Rweik

Guest
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Total posts
9
Camtasia is a good program. I just started using it a few months back.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top