WPT Bootcamp Graduate

D

Dantigua

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi Guys,

I recently posted asking if anyone was attending the WPT Bootcamp at Foxwoods and some of you replied asking that I post about my experience.

Well it has now been almost 2 weeks since I attended the course.

We covered mainly the basics:

starting hands
position
betting
post flop play
pot odds/card odds
tells
tournaments: early, mid, late stages; online

Although this seems pointless to many, myself included because I am not a beginner, the discussion and demonstration of these topics was useful and solidified what I already knew and helped me tighten areas where I was making mistakes... namely hands in relation to position.

There was a mixed reaction from my fellow students, some felt it was not teaching them anything, one guy had attended after completing the cash camp, so you can take from that what you will.

The instructors were good particularly Nick Brancato and Rick fuller. Nick is highly mathematical and relies 95% on the statistics, he is also a predominantly online player having only recently really branched out into the live poker world. Rick is a much loser player and whilst teaching ABC, TAG poker, his playing style is not close to that at all. TJ Cloutier was our star instructor and I feel that I learned very little from him. He was late every day, he was not well briefed and did not spend much time on breaks with the students. If you wanted to learn abbout the "old days" of poker... then TJ was the perfect instructor. Our 4th instructor was Bernard Lee, he placed 13th in the wsop of '05 and was the local professional. His stuff was pretty good and he is an enthusiastic lecturer.

There was a lot of contradiction in what each of the pros said, mainly as they were speaking from their own experiences and playing styles, so its important to identify with an instructor and take from him/her the more anecdotal information.