Status
Not open for further replies.
Chris_TC

Chris_TC

Cardschat Elite
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
There's one thing that's been bugging me ever since I started playing poker. Why on earth is it that people tend to say "nh" when you turn over a full house, quads or a similar big hand?
I never answer with "ty" because it makes no sense whatsover. It's not like I had any influence at all on what cards I was getting dealt. I guess they could say "nh" to the dealer, but he has no influence either.

Personally, I'd say "nh" if somebody played their hand really well, complimenting on their skill. But everbody seems to use it as a mere way of saying "boy, you sure got dealt some impressive cards there", which is answered by "thank you, I used all my skills to get dealt these impressive cards".

Why is it that a straight flush is an insta-VNH!! whereas a light value bet with second pair that gets called by a smaller pocket pair rarely is?

P.S.: Imagine you win the lottery. Your friend says "Very nice choice of numbers" and you answer "Thank you". Seems weird, doesn't it?

robwhufc

robwhufc

Cardschat Elite
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
There's one thing that's been bugging me ever since I started playing poker. Why on earth is it that people tend to say "nh" when you turn over a full house, quads or a similar big hand?

Full House and Quads? I've had plenty of "nh" when i've gone all in with AK and AQ and won with Ace high! Or a Pair of 8's that wins a coin toss unimproved.

Most opponents wont understand or notice your really good plays - the reraise to a blind steal, the brave calls, the correct laydowns etc.

I'm happy that people do type nh, and gg though - it's a tell that they are playing for fun and not to win.

P

ph_il

Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips