What is Your Best Skill?

• Total voters
RISKY 101

RISKY 101

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey , so i was wondering what skill is most important for a good player and what skill is YOUR best. I feel im pretty well rounded but my best quality is my reads then aggressiveness and luck then patience. as far as math i know all the basic like card percentages in preflop situations and i know how to figure outs after flop ect. also pot odds before all that implied odds or whatever

J

JulieK

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Since I'm new at the game, having the patience to watch how people play is most valuable to me. To last long enough to see who the good players are, watch how they play hands, and learn from them.

jdeliverer

jdeliverer

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Obviously the best skill to have as a poker player is reading your opponents. If you can always put your opponents on a hand, it doesn't take much else to become a massive winner.

Other skills people talk about like discipline and playing tight are just ways of getting around not being able to read other players. If you read people well, you know when to be disciplined and you don't need to play tight. Of course knowing your odds and figuring things out mathematically is important, but that is something anyone can learn and it is easy to pick up.

C

crow27

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I've learned at the micro level that patience really is the best tool you can have. My "reading" skill is improving, but it's probably still behind math. Sometimes I feel like I go between too agro and too passive. Still trying find right range for my game.

Double-A

Double-A

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I don't know what my best poker SKILL is but I'm getting pretty good with a Bo staff...

M

mange

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
patience