Should I be satisfied ?

MR TOYMAKER

MR TOYMAKER

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Since last Saturday, I have placed 14 stgs and mtt's out of 30 played. What kills me the most is in 4 of them I had chip lead of at least 4-1 and I melted down and took second. Out of the 14, I won 1st 4 times, 2nd 5 times, 3rd 3 times, 4th once and 22nd. Some would be happy with these ITM finishes. I'm a novice player (playing online just over 6 months) striving to plug leaks in my game. Headsup is not my best part of my game. I play Lag and Tag mixing them according to the table. In the last month, I was headsup with 3-1 chip lead at least in the two Cardchat freerolls. Both times I took second
mad.gif
. I WANT TO WIN NOT JUST PLACE. Any advice to tighten up my headsup play?

odinscott

odinscott

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Be more aggressive I think, instead of tightening up HU. Either raise or fold, if the hand isnt good enough to play, then fold it. If you think its good enough to get money in on it, then raise. Also you have to loosen up your starting hands, meaning that hands that you normally wouldnt play all of a sudden have alot more value. I would bet that the problem isnt that you need to tighten up HU, but instead you need to be more aggressive. Calling stations have alot of problems HU, because they give their opponent chance after chance to catch their cards. Remember - pressure busts pipes. Especially when you have the chip lead, like you mention. Keep the pressure on them until they bust...

B

Bentheman87

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
"Either raise or fold, if the hand isnt good enough to play, then fold it."