"Peeling off"

ChuckTs

ChuckTs

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
For the LHE players out there: How often, or rather with what odds, do you peel the flop with overcards?

I'm still a noob with respect to Limit Holdem, so any input is appreciated.

F Paulsson

F Paulsson

euro love
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Depends on which specific overcards I have, if there are any backdoor draws, add in some percentage of the time that my hand is still the best, my position, number of players in the pot...

But if I have overcards that I think have a decent chance to win if I hit one of them, I'm usually looking for immediate pot odds of 8:1 or better, and I want to be the one closing the action (so I don't risk getting raised).

Some examples:

poker stars
Limit Holdem Ring game
Limit: $3/$6
6 players
Converter

Pre-flop: (6 players) FPaulsson is BB with K♦ Q♣
UTG folds, UTG+1 calls, CO folds, Button calls, SB calls, FPaulsson checks.

Flop: 3♦ 8♦ 7♠ (4SB, 4 players)
SB bets, FPaulsson folds.

Raising preflop will only bloat the pot and although I have a decently strong hand, I'm out of position and I don't really have a fighting chance to make anyone fold when they've only called for one bet already. Had the cards been suited, I would almost always raise. This flop was not what I wanted to see, and even though I have two decent overs and a backdoor K-flushdraw, 4:1 isn't good enough. Especially not given that this pot may be raised behind me if I call.

Poker Stars
Limit Holdem Ring game
Limit: $3/$6
6 players
Converter

Pre-flop: (6 players) FPaulsson is SB with K♠ A♠
UTG raises, 3 folds, FPaulsson 3-bets, BB folds, UTG caps, FPaulsson calls.

Flop: 4♦ 2♦ 6♣ (9SB, 2 players)
FPaulsson checks, UTG bets, FPaulsson calls.