How does a player improve?

H

Hell-Raiser

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
US
Chips
I'm a struggling $1/$3 nlhe live player.

How does a player like me improve at the tables?

I've been playing for 14 months now, and have learned a lot from other players, and from finding myself in the same spots.

I have between 1200-1500 hours of playing time in this span. I'm not sure how many hands that converts to, but I still find it hard to string together multiple winning sessions in a row, consistently.

Is experience, plus trial and error the most valuable way?

Could you recommend the avenues that I should pursue, and books that will help my game?

How did you go from a losing player to a winning one?

Last edited:
jasioo

jasioo

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
PL
Chips
I have been playing on and off for over ten years, and have over 500,000 hands played, and im still loosing player, sometimes I am unlucky and sometimes I just play badly and only after a session do I realize it. And I play because it gives me pleasure. And maybe one day I will be able to overcome my weaknesses and start playing my best poker game. And the best teacher is your opponent, when you play badly you get punished. So to learn, you need to analyze your hands after the session to see if you would play them the same way again

M

martDdart

Rock Star
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
NO
Chips
In my experience,If you for whatever reason cant focus on playing your best game for example your tired,had a bad beat when playing, take a break for at least ten minutes in total silence and then bring your best game back to the table.

YLAN

YLAN

Sida Nga Taraki
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
SES Inc.

SES Inc.

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
CA
Chips
play, play and play some more. The wins will come but remember there is a lot o f luck and magic in the game.

pentazepam

pentazepam

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
SE
Chips