Folding pocket AA pre flop.

Ronaldadio

Ronaldadio

Legend
Joined
May 28, 2006
Total posts
1,804
Chips
0
Hi guys.

Are you guys all aware of this comment?

I put this in an answer to one of the threads, but the guy does not believe me!!!

Help!!!

I`m at work, so this is from memory. Sklansky says, as an extreme example:-

"If u were at the wsop final table (I wish) 1st prize was $1.5m, 2nd was $700k, 3rd was $400k, 4th was $150k.
U r in second place with 50000 chips, 3rd and 4th have about 25000 chips each, the chip leader has 200000 chips.
U r delt AA. U r first to act. He suggests u could fold because
  1. The chip leader can call and take you out hitting trips, straight, flush, etc.
  2. On top of this, because the pot odds are there, one of the short stacks might call, reducing your winning chances.
Effectivley, one or both of the other two guys behind you sit and watch u go out and move up $250k and $550k. U lose $550k.

That is roughly how it goes. Two points I would make
  1. Mr Sklansky is a more experienced player than me, so I won`t argue - in the scenario above I agree.
  2. Some of us might have seen AA pre flop busted?
I also disagree that this is a negative move. If someone said to me "I`ll guarentee u $100k now, or, on one throw of a dice, if u hit a six I will give u $300k" I would thank him for the $100k and go book a holiday!!!

I would argue than rather than it being negative, it is sensible!!!

Ronaldadio
 
S

Styrofoam

Visionary
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Total posts
632
Awards
1
Chips
0
would you still take the 100k if he offered you 750,000$ if the die came up a 6?

This folding AA preflop is nonsense. You're far greater than 50% to win even with 2 people calling behind you. Besides, if hte big stack calls you, and one of the little stacks call you...you could wind up right where you started, but the big stack will be 150k, rather than 200k, and one of ht elittle stacks wind up with 75k. The best case scenario is that all three of htem call you, and you triple up going into heads up. You're still more than a coin flip against these three opponents...why fold when you are quite possible getting more than 2:1 on your money against more than 50% to win. it could come down to just you and hte big stack...getting you slightly more than 1:1 (blinds+antes) with a 75+% to double up and move even closer to first place...

With the possible exception of every person on the table going all in preflop, It is never right to fold AA preflop in a cash game.

We should give this AA preflop fold crap a rest. The situations in which you fold AA preflop are so rare and come around so seldom that there are more important things to talk about.
 
Welly

Welly

Guest
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Total posts
760
Chips
0
You cant even contemplate folding in the scenario you outline.

If the scenario was this :-

Chip Leader : 200,000 chips.
7 players all with about 50,000 chips.
You have 1 chip left, there are no antes, and you have the button.
You are dealt AA, then fold
 
t1riel

t1riel

Legend
Joined
May 20, 2005
Total posts
6,914
Awards
1
Chips
0
So, according to the scenario Sklansky gave, you might as well fold your hole cards without looking at them because if you're not going to make a move with Pocket Aces, what hand would you make a move with?
 
Ronaldadio

Ronaldadio

Legend
Joined
May 28, 2006
Total posts
1,804
Chips
0
I think u all want to look in contex

The book is

David Sklansky - Tournament Poker for Advanced players

Part Three: Other topics

Page 134 - Folding Aces

Read it!!!

As I said, I was at work and the scenario I put forward was not exact!!!

WSOP final table was the example

1st = $1.5m, 2nd 1m, 3rd 700k, 4th 500k, 5th 300k

u r in 5th

leader 2m chips, next 3 have 1m in chips, u r a distant 5th.

one of the 1m chips moves in and gets called by the other 2 with 1m chips.

So it is a bit different, but that is the scenario. I would appreciate it in future if when u guys comment you read the question first, which was - "Are any of you guys aware of this comment" (refering to Sklansky saying u can fold pocket A`s)
I didnt say it was right or wrong.

Styrofoam - U did not have to comment - I`m new to poker and to this site, so it is not crap to me.

Welly - I pointed out I was at work and I was quoting from memory. Read the question in future before you comment.

t1riel - If you had read the question, then checked out extract I`m refering to, u will understand!!!

THANK U
 
Lo-Dog

Lo-Dog

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Total posts
2,240
Chips
0
Well Ronald, you were not even close to the real scenario in your initial post and you concluded by saying you thought it was the right thing to do

So the responses you recieved were fair.

Ronaldadio said:
I didnt say it was right or wrong. Yes you did.
I would argue than rather than it being negative, it is sensible!!!

Styrofoam - U did not have to comment - I`m new to poker and to this site, so it is not crap to me. The scenario you gave was crap and he told you, don't be so sensitive

Welly - I pointed out I was at work and I was quoting from memory. Read the question in future before you comment. They did, at the end of your post you say it is SENSIBLE TO DO SO, when really I see it as HORRIBLE.

t1riel - If you had read the question, then checked out extract I`m refering to, u will understand!!! Except for the ever delightful Toadly I don't think anyone will understand.

THANK U Your Welcome :p
 
Ronaldadio

Ronaldadio

Legend
Joined
May 28, 2006
Total posts
1,804
Chips
0
I did put a caveat in

I said I was at work and I could not remeber what was said exactly. I said I agree that in extreem circumstances it is right to fold AA

The point I was making to Styrofoam was I did put in the caveat - I was asking if people had read the article by Sklansky, not to comment on my scenario.

Welly, again I said it was sensible to take the money up front rather thatn chance a bigger amount on the throw of a dice when the odds were against u.

And as for you, I accepted that my scenario was wrong, that is why I re posted the correct scenario. Again, why did u bother to comment???
 
S

Styrofoam

Visionary
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Total posts
632
Awards
1
Chips
0
I was not intending to be rude in any way shape or form. I was simply saying that the scenarios for folding aces come around so seldom it is really not worth talking about. If i offended you in any way, i appologize.

There are theories behind folding aces, but ultimately, you've got more of an edge than anyone else. and if the odds tell you to call, you should certainly call.


I would take the 750,00$ on a die roll rather than 100k up front.
 
Lo-Dog

Lo-Dog

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Total posts
2,240
Chips
0
Ronaldadio said:
And as for you, I accepted that my scenario was wrong, that is why I re posted the correct scenario. Again, why did u bother to comment???

A little defensive are we? OK so you have the right scenario now, why call out all the people that replied to your original post when, based on that, they gave their opinions. No one said anything about you just the situation.

I, as the thoughtful poster I am:D merely pointed out your contradictions to show why you got what you got. :banghead:
 
tenbob

tenbob

Legend
Joined
May 16, 2005
Total posts
11,221
Awards
1
Chips
0
Wow there is lots of these AA threads flying around the place at the moment. Honestly the correct by the book play is to play your Aces, play to win ? Right.......

In the end of the day folding is not a totally incorrect concept IF the money thats at stake actually means lots to YOU. However in the long term you cannot expect to be a winning player by passing up +EV situations. A lot of this also comes down to correct bankroll managment, and withir you have some sort of gamble in you. Taking the $100K as cited in the example above is fine tbh, if its way above the stakes you are prepared to play for. But do the math and $1 vs $100K dosnt matter as far as the math goes, its a personal decision based on your own financial situation.

So while folding AA in the above situation may not be correct, as a personal decision it may be the correct one.

As for the insults flying around all over the place, get a grip.
 
Four Dogs

Four Dogs

Legend
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Total posts
4,281
Awards
1
Chips
0
t1riel said:
So, according to the scenario Sklansky gave, you might as well fold your hole cards without looking at them because if you're not going to make a move with Pocket Aces, what hand would you make a move with?
Nice point.
 
Dorkus Malorkus

Dorkus Malorkus

HELLO INTERNET
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Total posts
12,422
Chips
0
I dunno, I think I'm justified in moving in with pocket Jokers, or suited bridge rule cards perhaps.

(OP, what on Earth made you think we need another "Fold AA preflop?" thread?)
 
mrsnake3695

mrsnake3695

I'm confused
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Total posts
1,597
Chips
0
The only scenerio I am aware of where it is right to fold pocket aces preflop involves a tournament where all the "in the money" finishers get the same thing. For instance, you are in a tournament with 5 players left. The top 4 all get tickets to the WSOP main event, 5th place gets nothing. You and one other player have 50,000 chips, 3 other players have 10,000 chips. The other big stack is under the gun and goes all in, all three short stacks fold to you in the BB with pocket aces. The correct play here is to fold. You get nothing extra for accumulating chips, 4th pays the same as first and if you call and lose you are out in 5th with nothing when there are 3 short stacks under increasing pressure and at least one will go out before you even if you don't play another hand. Now if one of the short stacks went all in and you were last to act the call would be easy.
 
Ronaldadio

Ronaldadio

Legend
Joined
May 28, 2006
Total posts
1,804
Chips
0
I appologize

Styrofoam said:
I was not intending to be rude in any way shape or form. I was simply saying that the scenarios for folding aces come around so seldom it is really not worth talking about. If i offended you in any way, i appologize.

There are theories behind folding aces, but ultimately, you've got more of an edge than anyone else. and if the odds tell you to call, you should certainly call.


I would take the 750,00$ on a die roll rather than 100k up front.

Sorry m8, it was my fault.

Thanks for your input.

Ronaldadio
 
Ronaldadio

Ronaldadio

Legend
Joined
May 28, 2006
Total posts
1,804
Chips
0
Ignore me m8, I was having a bad day!!!

Lo-Dog said:
A little defensive are we? OK so you have the right scenario now, why call out all the people that replied to your original post when, based on that, they gave their opinions. No one said anything about you just the situation.

I, as the thoughtful poster I am:D merely pointed out your contradictions to show why you got what you got. :banghead:

I appologize m8, my fault, I was having a bad day.

Ronaldadio
 
bubbasbestbabe

bubbasbestbabe

Suckout Queen
Joined
May 22, 2005
Total posts
10,637
Awards
1
Chips
0
I wpuld really like to see any of the top players fold AA PF. I don't think I've ever seen it and if Slansky got them I don't think he would either. The theory is nice on paper but impractical in real life.
 
withawedge

withawedge

Visionary
Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Total posts
545
Chips
0
How very very true Bubba.

If you are not prepared to go with American Airlines pre-flop, then you are in the wrong game and i suggest you send me a PM as I know my mothers knitting club are on the look out for members.

:withstupi


Just my 2c
 
Lo-Dog

Lo-Dog

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Total posts
2,240
Chips
0
Ronaldadio said:
I appologize m8, my fault, I was having a bad day.

Ronaldadio

No problem, we all have those days, take care.
 
Jack Daniels

Jack Daniels

Charcoal Mellowed
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Total posts
13,414
Chips
0
mrsnake3695 said:
The only scenerio I am aware of where it is right to fold pocket aces preflop involves a tournament where all the "in the money" finishers get the same thing. For instance, you are in a tournament with 5 players left. The top 4 all get tickets to the WSOP main event, 5th place gets nothing. You and one other player have 50,000 chips, 3 other players have 10,000 chips. The other big stack is under the gun and goes all in, all three short stacks fold to you in the BB with pocket aces. The correct play here is to fold. You get nothing extra for accumulating chips, 4th pays the same as first and if you call and lose you are out in 5th with nothing when there are 3 short stacks under increasing pressure and at least one will go out before you even if you don't play another hand. Now if one of the short stacks went all in and you were last to act the call would be easy.
I'm not going to enter the debate on this, but i would like to say, on the positive side, at least you didn't copy this directly out of the book word for word. Thanks.
 
buckster436

buckster436

Cardschat Hall of Famer - RIP Buck
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Total posts
15,125
Awards
2
Chips
0
If The Only thing that counts is Winning, then folding AA would be a bad thing, ONLY a NON GAMBLER would fold AA Pre-flop, Any true Gambler would never fold AA Pre-flop,, you have to take chances to win a tournament, and if your not willing to do that you will never win a tourny, I wouldnt fold AA if you had a Gun to my Head, so i dont agree with Slanski on this,, >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>. buck:hello:
 
P

PreciousLor

Guest
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Total posts
54
Chips
0
Only big bucks for No.1 spot!! (the old exponential curve)

When will be the next time you're in the position of being able to win?

GO FOR IT :)
 
Bombjack

Bombjack

Legend
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Total posts
2,389
Chips
0
Ronaldadio said:
WSOP final table was the example

1st = $1.5m, 2nd 1m, 3rd 700k, 4th 500k, 5th 300k

u r in 5th

leader 2m chips, next 3 have 1m in chips, u r a distant 5th.

one of the 1m chips moves in and gets called by the other 2 with 1m chips.

This is even more compelling a call than if you were in 2nd place. In 5th place, you have nothing to lose. You have a more than evens chance to quadruple up and find yourself in 1st. If you were originally in 2nd place then you could lose a lot of chips and find yourself much worse off. Still a call though.
 
t1riel

t1riel

Legend
Joined
May 20, 2005
Total posts
6,914
Awards
1
Chips
0
One thing you have to ask yourself is this, "Should I fold the best starting hand in hold em because the player(s) I'm against might have a 4, 5 suited and suck me out?" If the answer is yes, you really need to reexamine your play.
 
shinedown.45

shinedown.45

Legend
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Total posts
5,389
Chips
0
All I can say is Mr. Slanski is on drugs........You have to ask yourself, would you fold A-A preflop?,.............didn't think so.
HAVE A NICE DAY
 
joosebuck

joosebuck

Legend
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Total posts
4,193
Chips
0
he's just talking about the possibility of 2-3 people being knocked out in that hand if you fold and you being guaranteed a bump in the payscale instead of getting knocked out with AA. there might be an argument for the fold equity if your prize money increase and % that they will be knocked out is worth more than your aces being called by like 3-4 people with pushers ahead of you. it's simply a situational argument.

like say you are up against 3 of the worst possible hands for AA (910s/45s/22 for instance) if the probability of 1-2 people being knocked out by a big stack, and you being bumped up in the payscale, is greater than your % to win.. wouldnt it be correct to fold?
 
Folding in Poker
Top