$5 NLHE 6-max: An interesting 5NL Hand, KK vs AQs 3Bet

M

Mybeardisevil

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I am very confused by the preflop 4 Bet call with AQs, maybe I am too much of a nit but calling AQ 4bets doesn't seem profitable, I am not really experienced enough to know whether this is a specific read on this player but appreciate your thoughts. Maybe it is the bottom of his calling range. Obviously he isn't going anywhere with the not flush draw and one over card on the flop, although the turn call also confuses me as he doesn't have the odds. Thanks, guys.

https://www.cardschat.com/replayer/5tM7ScA

puzzlefish

puzzlefish

student of the donk arts
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
CA
Chips
Just a fish chasing his flush.

TheBigFinn

TheBigFinn

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Poker Cruncher makes AQs a 35% dog to a JJ+, AK, AJs+ range. Even if one adds a few bluffs, he is a dog, but an in position dog, for what its worth.

After the flop, the same range is a race and I am shoving to the raise. AA takes away 2 outs and make Villain a favorite, but with the ace blocker there are only 6 combos of AA posible. Of course I'm calling the shove with the pair of kings too.

300HPGOD

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I think you played the hand well although not picking I would open to 3x and make the 4 bet a little larger as I think you will get called fairly frequently in this spot after the villain makes a 3 bet unless they were air balling their 3 bet which is not often in 5 NL. To me the flop sizing was perfect to make it a 2 street hand which you did.