Correctly Calculating Pot Odds - Does Your Bet Count?
I recently posted a hand analysis thread to which AlienGenius responded. Part of his response included the following brief statement about calcualting pot odds
"Also, you don't get to "add" your call into the pot, and then
make your calculations. The main pot is $102 ($12 + $45 + $45), and the side pot is $55 ($100 shove - $45 that went in the main pot), not
$135 and $110 as given in the above analysis."
Good point. I am curious, however, whether or not this is true. I have been playing poker for a long time and I have heard this rule stated both ways. I am not ashamed to admit that I don't know for sure which is correct: that you DO get to add your bet to the pot total in your calculations or that you DON'T.
I looked at it myself and it would seem to me that you DO get to add your bet into the pot when calculating pot odds
. Let's take a simple example where we will include our bet in the pot total when making the decision. Let's say that you have a draw that will hit 1 in 4 times (1:4). You need four times your bet in the pot in order to call and break even. Let's say that the pot is $200 and the action to you is a $100 bet. If you call, there will be your $100, the $100 bet, and the $200 in the pot for a total pot of $400. If you do this exact same scenario four times, let's say that you win exactly what you are "supposed" to...so one time out of the four. On the three hands that you lose you will lose $100 each time for a total loss of $300. On the hand that you win, you will win a $400 pot minus the $100 bet you called for a total win of $300. Even.
You will notice that I removed your $100 bet when calculating the profit, but left it in when calculating the odds. Although I hate to disagree with AlienGenius (and maybe I am misunderstanding him) this seems right to me.
I would really love everyone's thoughts.