Would you call the river??

EvertonGirl

EvertonGirl

Professional Fish
Awards
2
Fourth hand from my "How would you play it" series.

$27 NLHE (9,players)
6000/12000
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Villain (CO) $521,769
Hero (BB) $432,470
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Pre flop: Hero has J A
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]CO raises to 27,600, 2 folds, Hero calls
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Flop ($59.100, 2 players) 2 9 3
Hero checks, CO raises to $22,410, Hero calls $22,410
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Turn ($119.520, 2 players) 6
Hero checks, CO raises to $52,198, Hero calls $52,198
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]River (223.916, 2 players) 5
Hero checks, CO raises to 98,645, Hero??
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Villain looked quite loose, did he have a monster? Did he hit the board? (unlikely) Would you call again? Results later
 
hugh blair

hugh blair

Moderator
Moderator
Awards
8
Lose regularly with this hand when hit ace or Jack would fold on flop good luck.
 
georgi krastev

georgi krastev

Legend
Fourth hand from my "How would you play it" series.

$27 NLHE (9,players)
6000/12000
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Villain (CO) $521,769
Hero (BB) $432,470
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Pre flop: Hero has J A
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]CO raises to 27,600, 2 folds, Hero calls
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Flop ($59.100, 2 players) 2 9 3
Hero checks, CO raises to $22,410, Hero calls $22,410
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Turn ($119.520, 2 players) 6
Hero checks, CO raises to $52,198, Hero calls $52,198
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]River (223.916, 2 players) 5
Hero checks, CO raises to 98,645, Hero??
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Villain looked quite loose, did he have a monster? Did he hit the board? (unlikely) Would you call again? Results later

If I judge from that what I read, the hero might have call on the river?:hmmmm2:
(Personally for me, JAo is a mess!)
 
lsbenn

lsbenn

Rock Star
I would not call the river. Judging by the Villians bet sizing on the flop I am guessing he held A9 (top pair top kicker). As the board plays out he figures his 9 is good and is trying to extract all the chips he feels he can get from Hero. Just my thoughts.
 
Poker_Mike

Poker_Mike

Legend
Awards
1
Not sure what the nature of the question is....


Villain has been loose and so you are flatting and calling every street to catch his bluff ?


No 4-bet preflop or raises on any streets?


I assume you planned to call the river the whole time.


He either has an pair or air. Air you are probably good. If he shows 77 then you pay him.


Good luck !
 
3

3gdata

Rock Star
I wouldn't even call the turn and maybe flop. bluff catching with A-high OOP is not my style. You call every street 1/2 pot bet, is that a good play? Personally for me, not a good idea to do that. You can lose even if he's bluffing there (AQ, AK), your a-high is not the best a-high. I would call 2 or 3 streets there only against a maniac if I have notes on him. You give away about 40% of your stack trying to catch a bluff from a LAG with AJ OOP. But having 32bb (at the beginning of the hand) you could play further in this MTT almost comfortable. I don't know how far it was to ITM, but with 32bb you could save some chips for a better opportunity. That's just IMHO. I don't like to move my chips to the pot in that spots where I don't know at all if I'm ahead. There's no info for you, he can have a pair, he can have totally nothing, but you from your side don't have a clue about his hand.
 
Zloj_S_Msk

Zloj_S_Msk

Enthusiast
I think it's stupid just to call the flop, why not give the bank right away what to check, what for empty to ***** all roads, but if you already went then you need to finish
 
Wiltz82

Wiltz82

Enthusiast
I wouldn't call the river. I think with him being in the bb that he hit on the flop and with no high cards raising preflop he is probably placing your hand on either 2 high cards which you have or you were dealt a pair. I probably could of gotten away if you check raised him off the flop, but going all the way to the river just check calling they have you beat.
 
Z

zatchmo

Enthusiast
I'd be more apt to think the villain had you all along. Either with an overpair to the board, or tried triple barreling you with a better non paired hand like AQ or AK.
 
Jblocher1

Jblocher1

Legend
Not sure why we have a real decision here. Fold flop, or float and check fold blank turns. Doubt villain is ever triple barreling worse than AJ here
 
gabpoker

gabpoker

Visionary
Awards
4
I would have raised pre-flop.

As played I think you can call or jam. If you call you only need to be right 24% (98645/(223916+98645+98645) = .234)of the time but by jamming you could get one pair hands to fold. Another thing to think about is the villain the kind of player that can fire all three barrels as a bluff?
 
EvertonGirl

EvertonGirl

Professional Fish
Awards
2
River (223.916, 2 players) 5♣
Hero checks, CO raises to 98,645, Hero calls 98,645

Villain CO has Q 8 (high card Queen)
Hero BB has J A (high card Ace)
 
RedGnom

RedGnom

Run, Forester! Run!
Awards
11
River (223.916, 2 players) 5♣
Hero checks, CO raises to 98,645, Hero calls 98,645

Villain CO has Q 8 (high card Queen)
Hero BB has J A (high card Ace)
You have read this Villain very well if you so easily called him all the time.
Mark him!)
 
georgi krastev

georgi krastev

Legend
River (223.916, 2 players) 5♣
Hero checks, CO raises to 98,645, Hero calls 98,645

Villain CO has Q 8 (high card Queen)
Hero BB has J A (high card Ace)

A pretty good call has been made in this situation!


:)
 
G

Gambit123

Rock Star
All the tough decision was on you. I would of fold after flop or turn. But if he has nothing most of the time then riase somewhere. To me it like you only put him on weak flush draw.Which was the best situation to call three street with ace high. Anything else you lose. Or he's a complete donk
 
Jon Poker

Jon Poker

Legend
I have no idea how you call him down with AJo in that spot after he barrels on all 3 streets. If he is a very LAG kind of player than that board will hit his range much more than your own. That being said kudos to you for thinking you had a read on your opponent and going for it - and then finding out you were correct!

If the player is def labeled as LAG - then IF i do call the flop bet i most likely fold the turn. The logic is yes you could possibly have the better hand but if he keeps playing like that you will eventually take him for a large ammount later anyway when you do flop strong :)

So answer this threads question - no i do not call the river. I probably fold the flop but if i get stubborn i for sure fold the turn.
 
M

MrTerek

Enthusiast
Fourth hand from my "How would you play it" series.

$27 NLHE (9,players)
6000/12000
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Villain (CO) $521,769
Hero (BB) $432,470
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Pre flop: Hero has J A
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]CO raises to 27,600, 2 folds, Hero calls
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Flop ($59.100, 2 players) 2 9 3
Hero checks, CO raises to $22,410, Hero calls $22,410
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Turn ($119.520, 2 players) 6
Hero checks, CO raises to $52,198, Hero calls $52,198
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]River (223.916, 2 players) 5
Hero checks, CO raises to 98,645, Hero??
[FONT=NotoSans, Lato, arial, sans-serif]
[/FONT]Villain looked quite loose, did he have a monster? Did he hit the board? (unlikely) Would you call again? Results later


Turn fold, not great idea to call turn 6 without position. 5 or 4 check-raise.
 
Top