What hands to play in Omaha?

k0k17

k0k17

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey ! I recently started playing PLO8 Omaha and would like to know which hand to open with more often? As far as I understand, you need to play :ad4::ad4:-XX, I :10h4::9h4::qs4::ks4: like these hands to go straighter and preferably with suited. Advise people on how to play the hand and the beginner's mistake:):smile::rolleyes:

CowboyStomp

CowboyStomp

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Best hands to play in PLO8 are the ones which play high and low and are suited.

AA23 double suited is a great hand as is AA2K double suited

You want all four cards to work together for the best hands.

PLO8 is a game of having the nuts. Be careful of committing your stack if you don’t have them. Flopping the nuts doesn’t always mean a win because many hands do improve.

Big mistake that beginners make is to get “quartered”. That’s when you lose half the pot outright and spilt the other half. Be careful betting only the low pot.

Don’t be afraid to lay a hand down. bluffing is a part of PLO8 but the number of times people bluff with huge bets are small.

Low stakes PLO8 players treat the game like bingo. Play the good hands and bust them.

Navin Sarabjeet

Navin Sarabjeet

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
SR
Chips
Hey ! I recently started playing PLO8 Omaha and would like to know which hand to open with more often? As far as I understand, you need to play :ad4::ad4:-XX, I :10h4::9h4::qs4::ks4: like these hands to go straighter and preferably with suited. Advise people on how to play the hand and the beginner's mistake:):smile::rolleyes:

I've noticed you mentioned plo8, in that case 109kq double suited is a very weak hand to open in plo8.
Try to have at least an ace with a low card and two high cards for ex. a2kj double suited is a very strong hand to open with, because you can connect with either the low or the high cards.