KT better than AT when short stacked ???

Fahrenheit451

Fahrenheit451

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I am currently studying Arnold Snyder's "Poker tournament formula".
He is giving some preflop card charts, based on your stack.
One of them seems very confusing to me.

If stack is very short he reccommends go AI with such cards:
AA-77
AK - AJ
KQ, KJ, KT
QJ

IMO AT is missing !
How can it be that KT is considered better than AT ???
I think that is just error, but may be there are some considerations that I'm missing ?

mbrenneman0

mbrenneman0

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Dont go off of his range charts. Arnold snyders book is good as an introduction. It was my first poker book and i learned a lot from it, but the game has evolved a lot since then and a lot of math has been done on hand ranges since then.

Instead of this, use jennifears push fold chart. Just google it, should come up pretty easy. Its a google spreadsheet. If you cant find it, i can give you the link

Fahrenheit451

Fahrenheit451

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Jesus ! They are so detailed. Doesn't leave any space for creativity ;)

And what about different actions based on: First in pot, After limpers, After raisers ?
Doesn't matter ?

Last edited:
mbrenneman0

mbrenneman0

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Jesus ! They are so detailed. Doesn't leave any space for creativity ;)

And what about different actions based on: First in pot, After limpers, After raisers ?
Doesn't matter ?

Yep haha, remember that jennifears push/fold ranges are only for open raising all in pre, if the pots been opened you havw to adjust accordingly.