major pissadas

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hello,

I had this hand today and I don't know what the correct play was:

I timed out thinking if I should call and risk going out or if I should fold. I was rank 188 out of 331 in a 5€ MTT, 305 ppl get paid, min cash 7.61€. What's the right move here? Don't think I've ever folded KK in a situation like this and it certainly didn't feel right doing so. I ended up cashing but could only get the min cash.

Appreciate the advice.

najisami

najisami

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
MA
Chips
Hi major,
First of all, I'm no expert or pro, just going to say what I think.

There are two ways to look at this situation:

Some players would look at it with a conservative approach, meaning they would prefer not to gamble and get to the money first, hoping the 14 BBs could be enough to stick around with and outlive the 26 players left. The other reason is that there are players left to act behind you and they have you covered, any one of them could shove to isolate (Seat 3 for instance), forcing you to put in the rest of your chips.

But the most common recommendation is to shove with any prime hand when you get down to 15 BBs or less. If you're playing to make money, the money is all the way at the top of the finale table (Unless you're happy with the min-cash).
There are also other factors in play here, namely and especially the info you have gathered on the players behind you. It could be that everybody was playing tight at that point, but it's also possible that there's a maniac with chips......

There is more to say, but I don't want to make this too long, at least you stayed alive and got some cash. And what happened at showdown ? Don't tell me they both had AX and you would've won 🤪.

Good luck man :).

pentazepam

pentazepam

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
SE
Chips