How to deal with monkey shovers?

M

MadDogMgee

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello all, i've been playing poker for several years, but only online fairly recently. I feel like im a pretty decent player, but keep getting knocked out of tourneys by people with crazy hands vs my premiums. My question is how do you deal with these guys in order to actually finish a tournament?

F

fundiver199

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
First of all you need to understand, that is it completely normal to be knocked out of tournaments. After all this is the whole nature of tournaments, and if for instance 200 players entered, then only 9 will reach the final table, and only one will win. This mean, your chance of winning is 0,5%, and your chance of final tabling is 4,5%, if you are no worse or better than the other players.

Second you just make sure, you are calling with the right range and understand ICM. You need a much stronger hand to call than jam, so maybe some of those jams are actually not that crazy. And the other side of this coin is, that maybe you should also look for more spots to jam yourself, so you can pick up some blinds and antes as well, when everyone fold. Watch the video, Katie and Collin did recently on the subject.

Last night someone went abeshit crazy on me in the chat in a 3$ SnG on 888 Poker, because I rejammed light on him with T8s, when he had KJo, and I got there to win most of his chips. But really with his stack size, which was only around 12BB, maybe he should just have open shoved his KJo instead of mini-raising and inviting a rejam with a hand, that is rarely a huge equity favourite against anything, people rejam.

pentazepam

pentazepam

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
SE
Chips
If you get it in good you have already done all you can do. The rest is luck.

tauri103

tauri103

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips