How bad can you run, before it becomes a lack of skill?

C

CRRRRI7

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello everyone, let me start by introducing myself as this is my first post on this forum. I'm a college student studying business science, I live in Belgium, I'm 24 years old, like to watch football (the European one) and currently try to move up the stakes on pokerstars.

I've been playing poker for over 7 years now, but with huge periods within where I didn't play any hand at all. Recently though, I refound my love for the game and thought about making an extra income from it within a year. I started grinding NL2 zoom 6max and regular 9-mantables with the $16 I had left in my account from the last time I played on Pokerstars.

Within 4 weeks, I upped my bankroll to $200 within 100k hands, with a 7,57 bb/100 for 76k hands of zoom and around 5 bb/100 at regular tables. I always play 4 tables of zoom and because of the ring game table cap, 4 regular tables. I decided to move up the stakes and started playing NL5 because I'm obviously beating NL2 over a longer period of time. The first day at NL5, everything went fine and I won over 10 BI's. The day after, I lost those 10 BI's again due to in my opinion bad variance. No problem, because day three and four, I won 15 BI's, to eventually peak at 282$. Sadly, that's when the nightmare started.

Suddenly I can't almost win with any big hand anymore. I'm not kidding when I tell you that from my last 20 sets, I've lost my money at least 12 times. Let's visualize what I mean with some examples.

This is all zoom 6max. UTG, I raise TT 4 BB's, get called by button.

Flop comes: TxA

I decide to bet the flop for 2/3 the pot. Villain calls

Turn: A

I decide to bet again, but now a potsize bet. Villain calls.

River: K

I bet potsize again, villain shoves, I call, he shows AK.

Another crazy example.

I've TT in SB, open 4 BB's and get called by BB.

Flop: Tcxc5

I bet, bb calls

Turn: 5c

I bet again, villain calls