Funny Thing I did during a Tournament.

1

12skin

Guest
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Total posts
69
A couple of times during this tourney I would announce my hand to the table preflop, or at crucial points in the game. Cards such as 10 8 offsuit, etc.

When it came time to shodown, i sometimes won, sometimes lost, but one thing remained constant - The people would see I was telling the truth about my cards.

Fast forward to later in the game. I was head to head against someone and it turns out we were both chasing the straight but both caught the flush. I had an Ace of spades. Flop comes and I have a straight draw and he has a potential flush draw. I get nervous as the turn comes and its another spade to make his draw if he needed it. Then the river card is another spade which makes the nut flush for me.

Remember my telling my cards earlier? Guess what I did at this point, and what he ended up doing?
 
1

12skin

Guest
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Total posts
69
OK, Jamie Gold, What did you do?

You are supposed to guess. :D



I ended up asking him if he caught the flush because I didn't.

He said yes, then went all in against me

I promptly called [ showed the nuts] and proceeded to take all his chips and knock him out of the tournament.

LOL
 
tosborn

tosborn

Visionary
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Total posts
579
Very Nice!:D

I didn't mean that to be rude. I just couldn't help but reference Jamie Gold. I don't agree with telling my cards unless I am faced with an all-in in a heads up situation. Nevertheless, congrats!
 
4Aces

4Aces

is watching you
Joined
Mar 5, 2007
Total posts
1,901
Nice play.
I remember i tried something similar which didnt work,
I said i had 10 10, and the flop came 10 10 10...LOL!!
 
1

12skin

Guest
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Total posts
69
no offense taken. Not sure who Jamie gold is tho. I guess I need to google it.

Yeah, I normally don't tell my cards, but i was kind of in a whatever kind of mood and decided to try it. I knew i only had one shot to get away with it though, and it seemed to work out perfectly.

Cheers.
 
tonymaclennan

tonymaclennan

Guest
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Total posts
252
What is the "Nuts"? :embarasse


Nice play.
I remember i tried something similar which didnt work,
I said i had 10 10, and the flop came 10 10 10...LOL!!

LMAO
Now thats unlucky!
 
L

LuckilyMe

Guest
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Total posts
24
Did you end up winning the tourney??
 
1

12skin

Guest
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Total posts
69
Did you end up winning the tourney??

Yes, i won it. I ended up taking out the other 2 people that were left at the same time with Trip 5s.

I love it when a plan comes together!


What is the "nuts"? It is the best possible hand. For a Flush, holding the Ace would be the nuts. If you had a king, you wouldn't have the nuts as somone could beat you if they had the ace.

Disclaimer: I don't promote playing this way, this is how i felt like playing though at this point in time because I wanted to see if I could fool someone into giving me alot of chips. I normally never tell my cards. Ever. No matter what.
 
wsorbust

wsorbust

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Total posts
2,425
A couple of times during this tourney I would announce my hand to the table preflop, or at crucial points in the game. Cards such as 10 8 offsuit, etc.

When it came time to shodown, i sometimes won, sometimes lost, but one thing remained constant - The people would see I was telling the truth about my cards.

Fast forward to later in the game. I was head to head against someone and it turns out we were both chasing the straight but both caught the flush. I had an Ace of spades. Flop comes and I have a straight draw and he has a potential flush draw. I get nervous as the turn comes and its another spade to make his draw if he needed it. Then the river card is another spade which makes the nut flush for me.

Remember my telling my cards earlier? Guess what I did at this point, and what he ended up doing?
Someone reported you and your chat was turned off because you broke the rules? Penalty box: 5 minute major.

Edit: Oh, wait. It looks like you already posted what happened. My bad.
 
Top