Table Format
MTT
Freeroll
  1. Freeroll
Game Options
  1. Turbo
Currency
$
So I raised in the cut off to 2BB (16BB) with A7o and the button and the SB calls.
Flop: 4h 4d Kc
I c-bet (2.5BB) (maybe too agressive). Button calls, SB folds.
Turn: 6h
Goes check check.
River: Ad
I bet like third pot and the button goes all in.
So I called thinking in worst case we chop but he has KK.
Where did I go wrong? I'm here to learn so please tell me (I'm just starting out so if my thinking process is bad just tell me)
Thanks

Fofa

Fofa

Rock Star
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
BR
Chips
  1. Pre-Flop and Flop: Raising from the cutoff with A7o is a standard play, and your continuation bet on the flop was okay, although you could have used a smaller sizing given your hand strength.
  2. Turn: Checking on the turn with a weak hand like A7o is a good decision. You didn't want to inflate the pot with a hand that wasn't strong.
  3. River: Betting a third of the pot on the river is a reasonable value bet with top pair. However, when your opponent went all-in, you faced a tough decision.
The key mistake was not giving enough thought to your opponent's likely range. When your opponent shoved all-in on the river, they were representing a very strong hand. Given the board (4h 4d Kc 6h Ad), hands like KK, AK, or even a busted flush draw were all possible.

A

aronbarnkopf

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
HU
Chips
I was ruling those out because I assumed he would likely 3-bet those preflope. Of course he can trap because he wants action but in freerolls I don't see any of that.

300HPGOD

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips