DON, Call or Fold?

Micro Maven

Micro Maven

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm new to this format and wanted some advice on a spot I had today.

6max $11 Double or Nothing
Blinds 50/100 (no ante)
5/6 players remain.

Stacks:
SB - 17.7 BB
BB - 24.5 BB
UTG - 14.5 BB
Hero - 12.5 BB
BTN - 21 BB

Under the gun shoves all-in. Next to act we have pocket 10's. Call or Fold?

Normally I'd autocall but in my limited experience most players are fairly conservative in these spots so it was odd he would shove such a relatively big stack. We are the short stack but still had over 10 blinds so I felt I could find a better spot. I folded and he had AKo.I ended up busting 4th, 88 < AA in a short stacked blind battle. :(

knileh

knileh

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I don't call. There is plenty of poker to be played. You let variance "take the wheel of your destiny" when you go all-in. Trust in your skill.

suby_rafael

suby_rafael

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
It's an easy fold. Calling with pocket tens in that particular spot is a bad idea. If you have them in late position then you can obviously open. You can raise/shove from small blind and you can call with them if you are big blind and someone in small blind shoves.

Poker Orifice

Poker Orifice

FoolsTilt
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
CA
Chips
With it being a 6-man DoN, sitting on 12bb's I think I gii here.
As you said, it seemed like an odd spot to shove with his stack size (or something to that affect)
I'd assume we're not looking at QQ+ here, mostly likely AK, maybe AQs+(<?), TT-JJ

(if this were a 10man & bubble situation I would insta-fold)

idk... meh... no ante, maybe not :(

nah... I call it off. (< changed my mind again, lol)

Last edited:
Micro Maven

Micro Maven

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips