This is a discussion on Nitty fold or correct thought process? within the online poker forums, in the Live Poker section; This hand has been playing on my mind a bit because I canít work out if this is stupid or not.
Live cash game. £1/£1
This hand has been playing on my mind a bit because I canít work out if this is stupid or not.
Live cash game. £1/£1 blinds at local casino.
Iím not a regular player but I play a bit and I like to learn about the game.
9 man. Villain opens to £6 (pretty standard for the table) UTG+1, one caller in mid position, then folds round to me in the cut off.
The villain had been very quiet, not played many pots and had folded to 3 bets preflop a few times. The caller had been trying to see lots of flops, lots of calling preflop, so I had him as loose passive.
Villains stack was approx £130 when the hand started.
I had about £250.
I have AKo (suits arenít important for the action)
3 bet to £20.
Blinds fold, villain calls, other caller folds.
The fact that the villain didnít fold meant I put him on quite a strong starting hand, as he had folded to 3bets previously. So Iím thinking big aces (although I have blockers for this), pairs 8/9+ and maybe suited broadways. Donít think his range consists of much else. Iím assuming he 4bets QQ+.
Flop comes A Q 9 on a rainbow.
Villain checks, I bet £30 into £48. I had not been throwing loads of chips around, the table had been quite loose aggressive in general and in those circumstances I generally tighten up a bit and try to value bet my hands.
At this point the villain shoves. £110 into £78.
This completely took me by surprise. Not too many decent draws out there (only J10) which seemed unlikely for him to call a 3bet out of position, based on his previous play.
I think for a while then fold. I just couldnít see any hands I was beating at this point, I just convinced myself he had either flopped a set of 9s or AQ hit two pair. I couldnít see him doing this with air, and the only hand Iím beating really is a weaker ace or chopping with AK.
I also have a general rule that I never go all in with one pair if raised, because you are usually behind.
The villain showed me AJ 🤦🏻*♂️.
Based on the stack sizes and the size of bet, mathematically I should be calling this I think. But in a vacuum, I think you are usually behind?
Or is this just a snap call? And Iím just a nit, that doesnít know what heís doing?