Need A Ruling Answer...

H

homer46

Guest
Joined
Sep 16, 2007
Total posts
2
I'm holding pocket queens and raise before the flop. I get one caller who is in front of me. On the flop, Q-3-5, I hit a set of queens. I make a bet and the other guy pushes all in. I of course call and turn my cards over. After seeing what I have, he immediately mucks his cards without seeing the turn and river. A jack comes on the turn and a ten comes on the river. Everyone else at the table asked him why he threw his cards in explaining that if he would have had A-K, he would have it the straight. Of course, he turned his mucked (A-K) cards over and he was awarded the pot. Is this right or should I have won the pot? I have heard both sides. Someone give me the correct ruling. Thanks.
 
SHERMSTICK

SHERMSTICK

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Oct 23, 2005
Total posts
1,785
Answer

Hey Homer;

I've seen this before an imo your a winner, however I went on-line for the official answer an got this.

First things first, if this is a cash game you have every right to muck your cards if that is your desire. No other players can prevent this occurrence, so if you were playing a cash game, and player 2s cards entered the muck, then player 1 wins because his/her opponent folded.

P.S. I got this from the pokercoach.com

SHERMSTICK:cool:
 
SeanyJ

SeanyJ

Legend
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Total posts
1,558
I'm pretty sure you should have one this hand. A player shouldn't be able to take his hand out of the muck. Were you playing at a casino or was it just a home game?
 
H

homer46

Guest
Joined
Sep 16, 2007
Total posts
2
It was just a little home game...thanks for the replies. I thought I was right also.
 
Effexor

Effexor

Cardschat Elite
Joined
May 13, 2006
Total posts
1,773
Once cards are mucked, no more dealing should have even been done.
 
blankoblanco

blankoblanco

plays poker on hard mode
Joined
May 16, 2006
Total posts
6,129
yeah, you got screwed over. it's pretty easy to prove how horribly unfair it would be if you were allowed to do this. anyone could just muck their hand once they see the other player's cards, and then only "unmuck" them if the turn and river give them the win. so they would get the advantage of not having to show anyone the hand they made their play with unless they win or outdraw. again, obviously unfair and against the rules. there is no "unmucking" and the idea is idiotic. once he mucks, the hand is over and you win. essentially he sacrificed his minor chance at a miracle for the privilege to not have to show his cards down and give the other players information. he can't have it both ways
 
KMC1828

KMC1828

Legend
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Total posts
2,162
you're supposed to say "hes stupid for throwing in his cards before all the cards are dealt, so its my pot. screw you guys"
 
pigpen02

pigpen02

Legend
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Total posts
2,978
you're supposed to say "hes stupid for throwing in his cards before all the cards are dealt, so its my pot. screw you guys"

That is assuming you outweigh "you guys" or are close to the exit.
 
p-nuttin

p-nuttin

Guest
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Total posts
30
sonmebody is stupid

I'M like the one person said ,no more dealing .once you fold you fold,gather the cards and deal on player!!!!!
 
OzExorcist

OzExorcist

Broomcorn's uncle
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Total posts
8,583
Awards
1
Once a hand touches the muck, it's ruled dead. This might be a grey area in home games, but it's definitely the case in casinos.
 
Top