Was this the right play?

P

PR96

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm very new to poker, started only a few days ago and I just got knocked out of an online tournament pretty quickly.

I had a KK and felt pretty confident about it, so on the preflop I raised double the big blind and only one person called. I also raised after the flop and turn. When it came to the river, the other guy went all in and I thought at this point, I didn't really have much of a choice. I knew that judging by the board, I wasn't getting beaten any other way other than pocket aces. But that's exactly what the other guy had! :(

I'm just wondering if there's a better way I could have played that hand? Or maybe I didn't really make a mistake and I just got unlucky.

M

Mahdi

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Well, if you need any help you have to tell us what came on the flop, turn and river, tell us how deep were you and the villain and how much bets were on all streets(flop, turn and river)

H

HungryLyan

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
After you mentioned about raising double the big blind pre flop, I would of raised 3.5 times the big blind to make the player call more to be in the hand.

P

PR96

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Well, if you need any help you have to tell us what came on the flop, turn and river, tell us how deep were you and the villain and how much bets were on all streets(flop, turn and river)

The BB was 400, so pretty sure I raised 800. I was stacked around 2300, the villain was pretty high, around 10,000 I think. The flop was something like 4, 7 and J. Turn was 2 and the river I can't remember for sure. Pretty sure my raise was 400 both times. I wouldn't have lost to a straight or flush, only pocket As or a three of a kind. I knew going all in would knock me out though, so maybe I was too hasty betting so much.

Next time I need advice I'll be sure to actually note down all those details lol.

tauri103

tauri103

Legend