Poorly played hand or just a bad beat

B

BradC31

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I opened with A8 in the SB 4 players see the flob and it comes A Q 8 I flop two pair. the player next to me raises but small I call the other two fold. The turn comes another Ace. I get the full house. The player next to me raises again so I reraise and he calls. The river comes a 4 he raises again I call. He turns over AQ for the higher full house. Should I have played this differently. I'm new to the game so if the phrasing is incorrect I apologize.

A8 vs AQ

AQ8 A 4

Last edited:
puzzlefish

puzzlefish

student of the donk arts
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
CA
Chips
I opened with A8 in the SB 4 players see the flob and it comes A Q 8 I flop two pair. the player next to me raises but small I call the other two fold. The turn comes another Ace. I get the full house. The player next to me raises again so I reraise and he calls. The river comes a 4 he raises again I call. He turns over pocket Q for the higher full house. Should I have played this differently. I'm new to the game so if the phrasing is incorrect I apologize.

A8 vs QQ

AQ8 A 4

You have the higher full house.

Aces full of 8s > Queens full of Aces.

Are you sure you have the hand right?

W

whyfold that

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
all depends on what goes on in the hnd if dome one sucks out on you bad beat

puzzlefish

puzzlefish

student of the donk arts
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
CA
Chips
So just based on your description this is a cooler. You went in with a decent ace rag and hit two pair. There is no way you can know that your opponent hit two pair as well. It's definitely possible but you can't know that he has AQ instead of AK, AJ, AT, KK, QQ, some other higher pair. Unfortunately once both of you hit on the flop, there is no getting away from the result unless you play supper nitty and put him on just that one hand being AQ. It's just a risk that you take when calling a raise.

TheNutz4You