PLO tips for experienced holdem player?

D0nk3y Hunt3r

D0nk3y Hunt3r

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm new to PLO, can anyone share any general tips, especially comparing it to nlh?

T

theStarfish

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
DE
Chips
PLO is a great game but you need to be aware of some things. I guess you know that you always have to use two of your 4 hole cards. This leads to many card combinations. So often someone will have a big draw with many outs to straights and/or a flush. This means that often there will be a situation where all the money goes in on the flop in a 50/50 situation, e.g. between top set and a huge draw. So the swings are higher in PLO.
In the beginning try to play hands where all 4 cards fit together, e.g. 789T or a big pair with a suited ace, broadway cards or two big pairs . The average strength of a hand is higher than in Holdem. So often top pair or middle set is beaten. Even 2nd nuts or even a nut flush on a paired board can be the losing hand. So be prepared to fold these hands, something which you almost never do in Holdem. But on the other hand, if you have the ace of clubs for example and there is a possible club flush out there, you can try to bluff, because no one can have the nut flush with you having the ace of clubs. But I would say the most important thing is, that you are aware of your hand and what draws you have and what possibilities are out there.

Last edited:
dreamer13

dreamer13

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
LV
Chips