Math in poker

FanatsLV

FanatsLV

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
How many of you are using a mathematic while playing your hand calculating percentage and possibly of outcome?

For me personally is if I'm taking seriously my poker session I'm following to every hand what I'm playing from which position and making calculations in my head. But if I'm playing just to relax after work just playing for fun and really bothered about all that just trying get some fun and action.

Last edited by a moderator:
B

bellicoso

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I've been trying to work on this, but I'm still learning. I do consider my hands in range and in position, but I have yet to master the equity values of my hands. There's something there that I'm still failing to grasp... Anyway, I have no doubt that, once I'm able to manage this, it'll add a lot to my game. Right now, I use position and pot odds, but that's about it. I really need to figure out the rest. :)

D

dregan

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I just remember how many times I lost in this situation or won. That's all my math in poker. We can say that probability theory in the case.

darthjewel

darthjewel

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I do the math before the game, then I try to memorize the important points
and during the game use these points but rely more on my game experience.
The cards are divided into 6 groups, I am aware about the position but again think in the terms of levels not the exact values.
I am more concerned about the amount of money to bet, my bankroll and the pot size than the relative hand strength.
On the other hand I am a fan of all the statistics and with the time definitely use them more and wider that at present.

D

Dark Army

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I keep an Excel spreadsheet during an online tournament. It helps a little bit but mostly just sits there.