How do you stay focused during a tournament (online)?

F

forest_leaves

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Im new to playing poker in general, been playing some freerolls, i manage to get ahead on chips in the early stages but I get impatient about the 2 hour mark and start playing worse hands and eventually lose. (especially when everyone gets tighter)

Got any tips?

jmateuspoker

jmateuspoker

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
patience & concentration

The poker player accustomed to remain patient and focused part of the beginning you think that will not have patience but then will see that he can do it in 07-hour tournaments but need to go it working but not succeed in MTT tournaments.
:jd4:matesupoker

HypnoT0AD

HypnoT0AD

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I find it's better to play tighter in the beginning, try and reduce other distractions if you can, that way you can focus on the game.

S

stevenparker91

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Watch your opponents. Watch your opponents. Watch your opponents. Especially when it comes to a showdown. When you're not in the pot be watching these guys. If you're up against a guy playing every hand chances are you have him beat. Poker is not only about how you play, but how you can react against other players. And the only way you can react against them is to get a feel for how they play

fiddlesticks123

fiddlesticks123

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Agree with Steven. I think too many people switch off when they're not involved in a hand and they're missing out on a lot of information on their opponents. What I find helpful to do is watch all the hands and try to put opponents on certain hands, even when I'm not involved. It helps keep me concentrated during a long tournament.

bc2017

bc2017

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips