Liedust

Liedust

Rock Star
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
AR
Chips
What age do you consider appropriate to teach a person to play poker? Regards.

ChickenArise

ChickenArise

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I started playing when I was 8 years old. I started teaching my son to play tournament hold em at 14 years. I think its fine as long as you teach them how to be a winning player which means you will have to commit to coaching them.

I dont let him risk any of his money though. As long as he doesnt have anything of his own at stake I dont see it leading to problematic behavior.

I dont think kids should be taught games of chance though. Poker is significantly different from games of chance.

C

Cooking

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I don’t think there is an appropriate age to learn, I remember that when I was kid (around 7-8 years), I started playing game cards (not poker) in family nights and it was a lot of fun. Of course that no money was involved, I only learned that you could play for money online when I was 18 years old..lol

CptRunBad

CptRunBad

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
No age requirement really. The sooner the better in my opinion.

perrypip

perrypip

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I first learned poker when I was about 5. It was 5 card draw poker, holdem' wasn't even popular back then. It was at a family Thanksgiving gathering. I remember we had about a dozen at the table. The antes were a penny. I made about 10 cents.

S

shzoid

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
to old to be old

no reason how old u are! it's all open for all ways everytime

N

neptun1914

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
There si nothing wrong to teach a kid how to play poker if you explain to him/her the difference between playing poker for fun and gambling. I think though that before age of 18 it is not ok to play anything different than home games for few $.

S

shurik8888

Enthusiast
Silver Level