Beginners NLHE Guide

S

SDMade

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello guys im a fellow online poker grinder, ive been playing online poker for 8 years now mostly unsuccessfully with over 2 million hands of experience. i've donated a lot of money over the years and it was often extremely frustrating to keep losing without understanding why. most of the game theory information i've come across online(specifically for NLHE) leaves out these very important concepts and because i have a conscience i want to share some of the strategy tips that i've developed after countless hours reviewing my pokertracker database. like most, i believed online poker was rigged and spent many days trying to find a strategy to exploit the RNG, usually with mixed results, and to this day i still believe the RNG is skewed.

bankroll management:
-i've read between 25 buyins and 100 buyins is considered good bankroll management, i recommend 100 buyins minimum.

NLHE preflop:

-first i'll start with the concept of table equity which i find to be a useful starting 'VPIP' to aim for, table equity being: 100% divided by the number of players at the table representing your share of mathematically 'winning equity', for example at 6max your table equity would be 16.67% so you would want to be playing the top 16.67% of hands which for me is something like 22+A2s+ATo+KJo+KTs+QTs+JTs+, 9max would be the top 11.1%.. and so on.

-after youre familiar with table equity, you'll want to know that mathematically you can steal in late position and defend the big blind(possibly small blind too) up to double table equity or more (example: 33.3% at 6max, something like 22+AT+KT+A2s-T2s+96s-76s+), if you fold bb you'll lose 100bb/100 hands and 50bb/100 in sb - fyi, BUT keep in mind this isnt always appropriate as you often wont get enough respect to justify stealing/defending vs weaker opponents, in that case just stick with table equity VPIP.