12-tabling 25nl video with commentary

zachvac

zachvac

Legend
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Total posts
7,832
Just kidding, played for about half an hour while recording and giving commentary, just in time for camstudio to crash and having nothing but the ~$20 I won during the session :)

But I've recorded a few without commentary because I didn't have a mic at all, but since I've gotten multiple requests for doing a video with commentary, I went out and spent 20 of my hard-earned dollars on a headset. It's not great, but it's worth the $20 and it works, so I'll take that.

Have a shitload of homework I've gotta do, figured I'd record the session and then do homework, it all worked out besides the recording part. But now I've gotta do homework. If I need a break I'll probably come back and try it again. With any luck I'll have a video session posted today sometime.
 
Jagsti

Jagsti

I'm sweet enough!
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Total posts
5,478
Im looking forward to this Zach. Be warned CC'ers I have watched a 12 tabling video with tables cascaded.... It's totally insane. There were a lot of posts saying it was too much to follow, but it was cool/insane imo.
 
zachvac

zachvac

Legend
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Total posts
7,832
lol, sorry about the misleading title, apparently the hw I've got tonight isn't as tough as people claimed. Writing some code that would be extremely tough if the prof hadn't provided us with sample code that with a few tweaks and combining it with our last project should be done. So that means I'll have enough time to do a video, just as long as camstudio doesn't crash again.


Im looking forward to this Zach. Be warned CC'ers I have watched a 12 tabling video with tables cascaded.... It's totally insane. There were a lot of posts saying it was too much to follow, but it was cool/insane imo.


They're not cascaded, tried that once, it's crazy and personally found I couldn't handle it, I need to have an idea of where my hands are so I can remember action. It's tiled with a lot of overlap. It's not super crazy, it was just kind of funny when I was trying to explain the PAHUD stats and I kept needing to play hands and would talk through the hand, go back to explaining the PAHUD stats only to have to play another hand, took me like 10 minutes to finish explaining the stats. Hopefully I'll do it better this time :).
 
ChuckTs

ChuckTs

Legend
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Total posts
13,642
Bet you can't wait for that 24" Samsung ;)

I though for a while about getting a new monitor (if not from the fpp store then directly from a real store), but I think I'm falling into the trap of the multitable syndrome by playing too mechanically. I've been experimenting with 6 and 8 tables lately, occasionally playing 4 while trying out 6-max.
 
zachvac

zachvac

Legend
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Total posts
7,832
Bet you can't wait for that 24" Samsung ;)

I though for a while about getting a new monitor (if not from the fpp store then directly from a real store), but I think I'm falling into the trap of the multitable syndrome by playing too mechanically. I've been experimenting with 6 and 8 tables lately, occasionally playing 4 while trying out 6-max.

Well after using 10k for the tournament (got $180 out of it, so good decision IMO) I'm probably going to end up just buying the monitor with out of pocket money and I'll get cash bonuses with the FPPs. This entered my mind when deciding whether to do that tournament, 55k FPPs at gold star bonus level comes out to $627. First off I think I can get a monitor for less than that at a store around here (22" was about $250 so I'm thinking I'd be willing to pay $500ish for a 24", savings=$127 :)) plus I'd feel a lot better at a store like this with something that expensive knowing I could get customer service if I had a problem or return it if something went wrong. Although I've loved the customer service at stars so far, I don't think they'd let me return the monitor and I wouldn't blame them. So I'm planning on getting one when I get out of school in the summer if it's still going well and I'm profiting at 50nl. Anyway, I'm gonna stop writing here because I have homework and a video to do tonight. Don't want to get banned :).
 
Tygran

Tygran

Cardschat Elite
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Total posts
1,757
Bet you can't wait for that 24" Samsung ;)

I though for a while about getting a new monitor (if not from the fpp store then directly from a real store), but I think I'm falling into the trap of the multitable syndrome by playing too mechanically. I've been experimenting with 6 and 8 tables lately, occasionally playing 4 while trying out 6-max.

I have a 24" and it's worth every single penny even if you never play more than 6 at a time. It's very easy to do 9 and not too bad doing 12 on this thing either (not that i do 12..tried it once just for the hell of it)

Zach, looking forward to seeing your vid when you get it out.


//thread derailment ahead

At what point do you feel you are playing too mechanically? how many tables? does it depend on the type of table at all?
 
zachvac

zachvac

Legend
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Total posts
7,832
I have a 24" and it's worth every single penny even if you never play more than 6 at a time. It's very easy to do 9 and not too bad doing 12 on this thing either (not that i do 12..tried it once just for the hell of it)

How much did you get it for and what kind of resolution does it have?
 
ChuckTs

ChuckTs

Legend
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Total posts
13,642
(yeah, sorry for the thread hijack)

At what point do you feel you are playing too mechanically? how many tables? does it depend on the type of table at all?

I think at 8 tables I just play too straight-forward and stop trying moves. I'm also realizing that playing full ring just doesn't put you in enough marginal situations and that I'm not progressing as much as I'd like.

As of right now I'm sticking to full ring for profit reasons, but I'm looking into 6-max for improving my game since there are just so many more spots to deal with in less time.

How much did you get it for and what kind of resolution does it have?

Would also like to know this as well as the response time, brand name/model and contrast ratio please :)
 
zachvac

zachvac

Legend
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Total posts
7,832
ok so anyone who's done a video with audio before, what do you use for audio compression? I used camstudio's default and it sounds like crap, a lot of the time it's skipping (like my voice is repeating the same syllable like 3-5 times in a row) and the audio track is just plain off, I'm talking about the results of a hand before the flop's coming out. Granted I look like I'm making amazing reads, of the board :), but that's not exactly what I want to be doing. I've heard about camtasia, is that any better with integrating audio in?
 
ChuckTs

ChuckTs

Legend
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Total posts
13,642
Mine works fine with camtasia's default settings, whatever they are. I guess it's the built-in compressor.
 
zachvac

zachvac

Legend
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Total posts
7,832
Mine works fine with camtasia's default settings, whatever they are. I guess it's the built-in compressor.

No, I was using camstudio, I'll try a camtasia video tomorrow, because I have to get up in like 5 and a half hours, and then I'll have to get back from baseball practice and do what I can for the program I skipped to play poker so I can get at least like a 5-6/10 :).
 
SavagePenguin

SavagePenguin

Put the win in penguin
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Total posts
7,594
Awards
1
If your looking for a monitor, try PriceWatch.com. They're great for finding deals on misc. computer accessories.

Looking forward to the video with commentary.
 
zachvac

zachvac

Legend
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Total posts
7,832
Take 3

OK did a 3rd recording, using camtasia this time. Audio is a lot smoother this time, but it was still ahead. I'm talking about the flop before the preflop betting is complete. It slowly gets worse at it goes on, first 5 minutes or so it's right on but then the audio starts to get too early bit by bit. Any idea what's going on with that?
 
ChuckTs

ChuckTs

Legend
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Total posts
13,642
That's really odd...that's a result of camstudio or camtasia?

If it's the former, try camtasia...I've never had any problems with it.
 
zachvac

zachvac

Legend
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Total posts
7,832
Using camtasia. At the end I have a tough decision where I'm literally talking out my logic on the river decision before everyone's even acted preflop. Then I talk about the results as the flop is coming out and am talking about another hand during the time I'm actually thinking that hand over in real life. It's a good 15-20 seconds off easy near the end.
 
W

wutang1387

Guest
Joined
Feb 23, 2008
Total posts
3
sure why not

a little bit too much if you ask me but i look forward to it , rbing it on
 
zachvac

zachvac

Legend
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Total posts
7,832
Just got a response from their support, a tad longer than 24 hours, but whatever:

techSmith support said:
Hello and good morning, thank you for contacting us today.

This is usually a system resource issue. Your processor cannot process both the video and audio fast enough to keep them in sync.

Below are some things that will help.

Disable hardware acceleration.
To disable hardware acceleration globally, right-click on the desktop and select Properties > Settings > Advanced > Troubleshooting. Set the acceleration slider to None.

Also, reducing the screen area you are recording will as well as reducing the frame rate.

Also make sure to shut down any other applications that could be running when recording.

Additionally, you could try to change the audio sampling rate to PCM format, 24.000 kHz, 16 bit, Mono 46kb/sec.
This can be accessed by opening Camtasia Recorder and going to Tools > Options > Audio tab > Audio Format button.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Nick
So I'll adjust the hardware acceleration and change the audio sampling rate, but I can't be shutting down any other applications (only others were pokertracker and PAHUD) and 12 tables kinda fill up the entire screen. But I'll be making those 2 changes and trying again (take 4) tomorrow morning. Never knew incorporating audio could be so tough.
 
Top